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In addition, the Register contains notices of rules terminated by
the agency and rules that have expired.

ABOUT RULES
Rules can be: made (all new text); amended (rules on file,

changing text); repealed (removing text); or renumbered (moving
rules to a different Section number). Rulemaking activity published
in the Register includes: proposed, final, emergency, expedited, and
exempt rules as defined in the APA, and other state statutes.

 New rules in this publication (whether proposed or made) are
denoted with underlining; repealed text is stricken.

WHERE IS A “CLEAN” COPY OF THE FINAL OR EXEMPT 
RULE PUBLISHED IN THE REGISTER?

The Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C) contains the codified
text of rules. The A.A.C. contains rules promulgated and filed by
state agencies that have been approved by the Attorney General or
the Governor’s Regulatory Review Council. The Code also contains
rules exempt from the rulemaking process.

The authenticated pdf of Code Chapters posted on the Arizona
Secretary of State’s website are the official published version of rules
in the A.A.C. The Code is posted online for free.

LEGAL CITATIONS AND FILING NUMBERS
On the cover: Each agency is assigned a Chapter in the Arizona

Administrative Code under a specific Title. Titles represent broad
subject areas. The Title number is listed first; with the acronym
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of the published documents in the Register. The original filed
document is available for 10 cents a page.

November 22, 2024
Volume 30, Issue 47



Arizona Administrative Register Rulemaking Guide

November 22, 2024 | Published by the Arizona Secretary of State | Vol. 30, Issue 47 3489

Arizona Regular Rulemaking Process

START HERE

APA, statute or ballot 
proposition is 

passed. It gives an 
agency authority to 

make rules.

It may give an 
agency an exemption 

to the process or 
portions thereof.

Agency opens a 
docket. 

Agency files a Notice of 
Rulemaking Docket 

Opening; it is published 
in the Register. Often 
an agency will file the 

docket with the 
proposed rulemaking.

Agency decides not to 
act and closes docket.

The agency may let 
the docket lapse by 
not filing a Notice of 

Proposed rulemaking 
within one year.

Agency drafts proposed rule 
and Economic Impact 

Statement (EIS); informal 
public review/comment.

Agency files Notice of 
Proposed Rulemaking. 

Notice is published in 
the Register.

Notice of meetings may 
be published in 

Register or included in 
Preamble of Proposed 

Rulemaking. 

Agency opens 
comment period.

Agency decides not to 
proceed and does not file 
final rule with G.R.R.C. 

within one year after 
proposed rule is 

published. A.R.S. § 41-
1021(A)(4).

Agency decides not to 
proceed and files Notice 

of Termination of 
Rulemaking for 

publication in Register. 
A.R.S. § 41-1021(A)(2).

Agency files Notice 
of Supplemental 

Proposed 
Rulemaking. Notice 

published in 
Register.

Oral proceeding and close of 
record. Comment period must last 
at least 30 days after publication 

of notice. Oral proceeding 
(hearing) is held no sooner than 

30 days after publication of notice 
of hearing

Agency decides not to 
proceed; files Notice of 

Termination of 
Rulemaking. May open 

a new Docket.

Substantial change?

If no change then

Rule must be submitted for review or terminated within 120 days after the close of the record.

A final rulemaking package is submitted to G.R.R.C. or A.G. for review. Contains final 
preamble, rules, and Economic Impact Statement.

G.R.R.C. has 90 days to review and approve or return the rule package, in whole or in part; 
A.G. has 60 days.

After approval by G.R.R.C. or A.G., the rule becomes effective 60 days after filing with the 
Secretary of State (unless otherwise indicated).

Final rule is published in the Register and the quarterly Code Supplement.

Look for the Agency Notice
Review (inspect) notices published

in the Arizona Administrative Register.
Many agencies maintain stakeholder
lists and would be glad to inform you
when they proposed changes to rules.
Check an agency’s website and its
newsletters for news about notices and
meetings.

Feel like a change should be made
to a rule and an agency has not
proposed changes? You can petition an
agency to make, amend, or repeal a
rule. The agency must respond to the
petition. (See A.R.S. § 41-1033)

Attend a public hearing/meeting
Attend a public meeting that is

being conducted by the agency on a
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking.
Public meetings may be listed in the
Preamble of a Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking or they may be published
separately in the Register. Be prepared
to speak, attend the meeting, and make
an oral comment. 

An agency may not have a public
meeting scheduled on the Notice of
Proposed Rulemaking. If not, you may
request that the agency schedule a
proceeding. This request must be put in
writing within 30 days after the
published Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking.

Write the agency
Put your comments in writing to

the agency. In order for the agency to
consider your comments, the agency
must receive them by the close of
record. The comment must be received
within the 30-day comment timeframe
following the Register publication of
the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking.

You can also submit to the
Governor’s Regulatory Review
Council written comments that are
relevant to the Council’s power to
review a given rule (A.R.S. § 41-
1052). The Council reviews the rule at
the end of the rulemaking process and
before the rules are filed with the
Secretary of State.
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Definitions
Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.): Official rules codified and published

by the Secretary of State’s Office. Available online at www.azsos.gov.
Arizona Administrative Register (A.A.R.): The official publication that

includes filed documents pertaining to Arizona rulemaking. Available online at
www.azsos.gov.

Administrative Procedure Act (APA): A.R.S. Title 41, Chapter 6, Articles 1
through 10. Available online at www.azleg.gov.

Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.): The statutes are made by the Arizona
State Legislature during a legislative session. They are complied by Legislative
Council, with the official publication codified by Thomson West. Citations to
statutes include Titles which represent broad subject areas. The Title number is
followed by the Section number. For example, A.R.S. § 41-1001 is the
definitions Section of Title 41 of the Arizona Administrative Procedures Act.
The “§” symbol simply means “section.” Available online at www.azleg.gov.

Chapter: A division in the codification of the Code designating a state
agency or, for a large agency, a major program.

Close of Record: The close of the public record for a proposed rulemaking is
the date an agency chooses as the last date it will accept public comments, either
written or oral.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR): The Code of Federal Regulations is a
codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register
by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government.

Docket: A public file for each rulemaking containing materials related to the
proceedings of that rulemaking. The docket file is established and maintained by
an agency from the time it begins to consider making a rule until the rulemaking
is finished. The agency provides public notice of the docket by filing a Notice of
Rulemaking Docket Opening with the Office for publication in the Register.

Economic, Small Business, and Consumer Impact Statement (EIS): The
EIS identifies the impact of the rule on private and public employment, on small
businesses, and on consumers. It includes an analysis of the probable costs and
benefits of the rule. An agency includes a brief summary of the EIS in its
preamble. The EIS is not published in the Register but is available from the
agency promulgating the rule. The EIS is also filed with the rulemaking package.

Governor’s Regulatory Review (G.R.R.C.): Reviews and approves rules to
ensure that they are necessary and to avoid unnecessary duplication and adverse
impact on the public. G.R.R.C. also assesses whether the rules are clear, concise,
understandable, legal, consistent with legislative intent, and whether the benefits
of a rule outweigh the cost.

Incorporated by Reference: An agency may incorporate by reference
standards or other publications. These standards are available from the state
agency with references on where to order the standard or review it online.

Federal Register (FR): The Federal Register is a legal newspaper published
every business day by the National Archives and Records Administration
(NARA). It contains federal agency regulations; proposed rules and notices; and
executive orders, proclamations, and other presidential documents.

Session Laws or “Laws”: When an agency references a law that has not yet
been codified into the Arizona Revised Statutes, use the word “Laws” is followed
by the year the law was passed by the Legislature, followed by the Chapter
number using the abbreviation “Ch.”, and the specific Section number using the
Section symbol (§). For example, Laws 1995, Ch. 6, § 2. Session laws are
available at www.azleg.gov.

United States Code (U.S.C.): The Code is a consolidation and codification
by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. The
Code does not include regulations issued by executive branch agencies, decisions
of the federal courts, treaties, or laws enacted by state or local governments.

Acronyms
A.A.C. – Arizona Administrative Code 

A.A.R. – Arizona Administrative Register

APA – Administrative Procedure Act

A.R.S. – Arizona Revised Statutes

CFR – Code of Federal Regulations

EIS – Economic, Small Business, and 

Consumer Impact Statement 

FR – Federal Register

G.R.R.C. – Governor’s Regulatory Review 

Council

U.S.C. – United States Code

About Preambles
The Preamble is the part of a

rulemaking package that contains
information about the rulemaking and
provides agency justification and
regulatory intent. 

It includes reference to the specific
statutes authorizing the agency to
make the rule, an explanation of the
rule, reasons for proposing the rule,
and the preliminary Economic Impact
Statement. 

The information in the Preamble
differs between rulemaking notices
used and the stage of the rulemaking.
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Human Resources Division
100 N. 15th Ave., Suite 301
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 540-8309
Email: Kerry.Schleappe@azdoa.gov

6. The time during which the agency will accept written comments and the time and place where oral comments
may be made:

Written or emailed comments may be submitted at any time during the public comment period to either of the individuals listed in
item 5. Information regarding an oral proceeding is included in the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking.

7. A timetable for agency decisions or other action on the proceeding, if known:
To be determined.

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING DOCKET OPENING

STATE REAL ESTATE DEPARTMENT
[R24-250]

1. Permission to proceed with this docket was granted under A.R.S. § 41-1039 by the governor on:
October 23, 2024 

2. Title and its heading:
4, Professions and Occupations

Chapter and its heading:
28, State Real Estate Department

Article and its heading:
1, General Provisions
3, Licensure
4, Education
5, Advertising
7, Compensation
8, Documents
11, Professional Conduct
12, Developments
13, Administrative Procedures

Section number:
R4-28-101 through R40-28-104, Table 1; R4-28-301 through R4-28-306; R4-28-401, R4-28-402, R4-28-404; R4-28-502, R4-28-
504; R4-28-701; R4-28-801, R4-28-802, R4-28-804 through R4-28-805; R4-28-1101 through R4-28-1103; R4-28-A1201 through
R4-28-A1218, R4-28-A1221 through R4-28-A1222; R4-28-B1201 through R4-28-B1203, R4-28-B1205 through R4-28-B1207,
R4-28-B1209, R4-28-B1210; and R4-28-1302 through R4-28-1305
Sections may be added, deleted, amended, repealed, modified or renumbered as necessary.

3. The subject matter of the proposed rule:
Five Year Rule Review
During the Fifty-Sixth Legislature, Second Regular Session, the Department successfully worked to pass and have signed a com-
prehensive update to Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 32, Chapter 20.

Cognizant of the proposed legislative changes, understanding the time elapsed since the last successful rulemaking, and in order to
comprehensively review all of its Rules; not simply those that were due in its Five Year Rule Review in February 2024, the Depart-
ment requested and was granted a 120 day extension to complete its Review.

In June 2024, the Department completed and submitted its Five Year Rule Review of Arizona Administrative Code, Title 4, Chap-
ter 28 - State Real Estate Department to the Governor’s Regulatory Review Council (GRRC) for consideration and approval.

In June 2024, the Department also completed a draft of amendments to its rules satisfying issues identified in the Five Year Rule
Review. This draft was submitted to its Policy Advisor in the Governor’s Office for approval to be exempt from the Rulemaking
Moratorium.

GRRC approved the Department’s Five Year Rule Review Report on October 1, 2024. The Governor’s Office provided its waiver
for the Rulemaking Moratorium on October 23, 2024.

The Department now moves to file this Notice of Docket Opening to begin informally working with stakeholders and the regulated
community on drafted amendments to Arizona Administrative Code, Title 4, Chapter 28.

4. A citation to all published notices relating to the current proceeding:
 Not applicable

5. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rule:
Name: Liz Recchia
Title: Assistant Commissioner
Division: Enforcement and Compliance Division
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Address: 100 N. 15th Ave., Suite 201
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 771-7700
Email: LRecchia@azre.gov
Website: www.azre.gov

6. The time during which the agency will accept written comments and the time and place where oral comments
may be made:

To be announced in future notices regarding the rulemaking.

7. A timetable for agency decisions or other action on the current proceeding, if known:
To be announced in future notices regarding the rulemaking.

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING DOCKET OPENING

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
TITLE, REGISTRATION, AND DRIVER LICENSES

[R24-251]

1. Permission to proceed with this docket was granted under A.R.S. § 41-1039 by the governor on:
March 7, 2024

2. Title and its heading:
17, Transportation

Chapter and its heading:
4, Department of Transportation - Title, Registration, and Driver Licenses

Article and its heading:
5, Safety; and 7, Hazardous Materials Endorsement

Section number:
R17-4-508, R17-4-702, R17-4-705, and R17-4-707
Sections may be added, amended, repealed, or renumbered as necessary.

3. The subject matter of the proposed rule:
The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), in partnership with the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS), is
engaged in rulemaking to incorporate by reference the 2023 edition of the Code of Federal Regulations relating to the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations in 17 A.A.C. 5, Article 2. These regulations include the physical qualifications of commercial
driver license holders and the issuance of the hazardous materials endorsement. This rulemaking will ensure rules are consistent
and current with federal regulations, incorporate by reference the 2023 edition of 49 CFR 1572 for the hazardous materials
endorsement, ensure information is consistent with state statutes and Department requirements, and make additional grammatical
and technical changes as needed.

4. A citation to all published notices relating to the current proceeding:
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: 30 A.A.R. 3502, November 22, 2024 (in this issue); File number: R24-244

5. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rule:
Name: Candace Olson
Title: Senior Rules Analyst
Office: Government Relations and Rules
Address: Department of Transportation

206 S. 17th Ave., Mail Drop 180A
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (480) 267-6610
Email: COlson2@azdot.gov
Website: https://azdot.gov/about/government-relations

6. The time during which the agency will accept written comments and the time and place where oral comments
may be made:

Written comments may be submitted at any time until the close of public record. All comments should be directed to the person
listed under item 5. Any information regarding an oral proceeding scheduled for this rulemaking is included in the Notice of Pro-
posed Rulemaking.

7. A timetable for agency decisions or other action on the current proceeding, if known:
The close of public record is 5:00 p.m. on January 15, 2025.
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CHAPTER 28. STATE REAL ESTATE DEPARTMENT

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 28. STATE REAL ESTATE DEPARTMENT
Supp. 19-2

This Chapter contains rule Sections that were filed to be codified in the Arizona Administrative Code between the
dates of April 1, 2019 through June 30, 2019

Questions about these rules? Contact:
Department Arizona Department of Real Estate
Address: 100 North 15th Avenue, Suite 201
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Website: www.azre.gov

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 28. STATE REAL ESTATE DEPARTMENT

Authority: A.R.S. § 32-2107

ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
Section
R4-28-101. Definitions 3
R4-28-102. Document Filing; Computation of Time 3
R4-28-103. Licensing Time-frames 3
R4-28-104. Development Inspection Fee 4
R4-28-105. Expired 4

Table 1. Time-frames (Calendar Days) 5

ARTICLE 2. REPEALED
Section
R4-28-201. Repealed 6

ARTICLE 3. LICENSURE
Section
R4 28 301. General License Requirements; Non-resident License 6
R4 28 302. Employing Broker’s License; Non-resident Broker

7
R4-28-303. License Renewal; Reinstatement; Changes of Personal Information, License, or License Status; Professional Corporation or

Professional Limited Liability Company Licensure; Administrative Severance 9
R4-28-304. Branch Office; Branch Office Manager 11
R4-28-305. Temporary License, Certificate of Convenience 12
R4-28-306. Unlawful License Activity

12

ARTICLE 4. EDUCATION
Section
R4 28 401. Prelicensure Education Requirements; Waiver 12
R4-28-402. Continuing Education Requirements; Waiver; Distance Learning 13
R4-28-403. License Examinations 15
R4-28-404. Real Estate School Requirements, Course and Instructor Approval 15
R4-28-405. Expired 17

ARTICLE 5. ADVERTISING
Section
R4-28-501. Repealed 17
R4 28 502. Advertising by a Licensee 17

Page 1 Supp. 19-2 June 30, 2019

http://www.azre.gov
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R4 28 503. Promotional Activities 17
R4 28 504. Development Advertising 17

ARTICLE 6. REPEALED
Article 6, consisting of Section R4-28-601, repealed effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1).

Section
R4-28-601. Repealed 18

ARTICLE 7. COMPENSATION
Section
R4 28 701. Compensation Sharing Disclosure 18

ARTICLE 8. DOCUMENTS
Editor’s Note: A correction was made to the table of contents to reflect the correct Section heading for R4-28-805 (Supp. 04-4).

Section
R4-28-801. Repealed 18
R4 28 802. Conveyance Documents 19
R4 28 803. Contract Disclosures 19
R4 28 804. Rescission of Contract 19
R4-28-805. Public Report Receipt 19

ARTICLE 9. REPEALED
Article 9, consisting of Sections R4-28-901 and R4-28-902, repealed effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1).

Section
R4-28-901. Repealed 20
R4-28-902. Repealed 20

ARTICLE 10. REPEALED
Article 10, consisting of Section R4-28-1001, repealed by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp.05-1).

Section
R4 28 1001. Repealed 20
R4-28-1002. Expired 20

ARTICLE 11. PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT
Section
R4 28 1101. Duties to Client 20
R4 28 1102. Property Negotiations 21
R4-28-1103. Broker Supervision and Control 21

ARTICLE 12. DEVELOPMENTS
Section
R4 28 1201. Renumbered 21
R4-28-1202. Repealed 21
R4 28 1203. Renumbered 22
R4 28 1204. Repealed 22

PART A. APPLICATION FOR PUBLIC REPORT, CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY, OR SPECIAL ORDER OF EXEMPTION

Section
R4-28-A1201. Development Name; Lot Sales; Applicant 22
R4-28-A1202. Development Map; Location; Land Characteristics

22
R4-28-A1203. Flood and Drainage; Land Uses; Adverse Conditions 22
R4-28-A1204. Utilities 23
R4-28-A1205. Water Supply 23
R4-28-A1206. Sewage Disposal 24
R4-28-A1207. Streets and Access 24
R4-28-A1208. Flood Protection and Drainage Improvements 25
R4-28-A1209. Common, Community, or Recreational Improvements 25
R4-28-A1210. Master Planned Community 25
R4-28-A1211. Assurances for Completion and Maintenance of Improvements 25
R4-28-A1212. Schools and Services 26

Page 2 Supp. 19-2 June 30, 2019
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CHAPTER 28. STATE REAL ESTATE DEPARTMENT

R4-28-A1213. Property Owners’ Association 27
R4-28-A1214. Development Use 27
R4-28-A1215. Development Sales 27
R4-28-A1216. Title Reports and Encumbrances 27
R4-28-A1217. ADEQ Approval 28
R4-28-A1218. Property Registrations in Other Jurisdictions 28
R4-28-A1219. Condominium Developments 28
R4-28-A1220. Foreign Developments 28
R4-28-A1221. Expired Cemetery Developments 28
R4-28-A1222. Membership Camping Developments 28
R4-28-A1223. Affidavit 28

PART B. GENERAL INFORMATION

Section
R4-28-B1201. Expired Expedited Registration For Improved Subdivision Lots and Unsubdivided Lands 28
R4-28-B1202. Conditional Sales Exemption 29
R4-28-B1203. Material Change; Public Report Amendments 29
R4-28-B1204. Cemetery Notice; Amendments 29
R4-28-B1205. Expired Contiguous Parcels 29
R4-28-B1206. Filing with HUD 30
R4-28-B1207. Subsequent Owner 30
R4-28-B1208. Public Report Correction 30
R4-28-B1209. Options; Blanket Encumbrances; Releases 30
R4-28-B1210. Earnest Money 30
R4-28-B1211. Recordkeeping 30

ARTICLE 13. ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES
Section
R4-28-1301. Repealed 30
R4 28 1302. Service of Pleadings Subsequent to Complaint and Notice 30
R4 28 1303. Information Obtained in an Investigation 31
R4 28 1304. Response; Default 31
R4 28 1305. Notice of Appearance of Counsel 31
R4 28 1306. Repealed 31
R4 28 1307. Expired 31
R4 28 1308. Repealed 31
R4 28 1309. Repealed 31
R4 28 1310. Rehearing or Review of Decision; Response; Decision 32
R4 28 1311. Repealed 32
R4 28 1312. Repealed 32
R4 28 1313. Correction of Clerical Mistakes 32

ARTICLE 14. REPEALED
Former Article 14, consisting of Section R4-28-1401, repealed effective November 27, 1987.

Section
R4-28-1401. Repealed 32
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ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
R4-28-101. Definitions
In addition to the definitions listed in A.R.S. § 32-2101 the following terms apply to this Chapter:
1. “Active license” or “active status license” means a current license issued by the Department to a broker or salesperson that states the

name of the broker that employs the broker or salesperson and the location at which the salesperson or broker is employed. If referring
to an employing broker, it means a currently licensed employing broker with a currently licensed designated broker of record.

2. “ADEQ” means the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality.

3. “ADWR” means the Arizona Department of Water Resources.

4. “Closing” means the final step of a real estate transaction, such as when the consideration is paid, all documents relating to the
transaction are executed and recorded, or the deed is delivered or placed in escrow.

5. “Credit hour” means 50 minutes of instruction.

6. “Course” means a class, seminar, or presentation.

7. “Current license” or “current status” means a license that is either active or eligible to be active and is within the two-year license
period or the one-year grace period while expired.

8. “D.b.a.” means ‘doing business as’ and is a name, other than a person’s legal name, authorized by the Department for a licensee’s use
in conducting business.

9. “Distance learning course” means a course of instruction outside a traditional classroom situation consisting of computer-based
interactive instructional material, requiring completion in the credit hours specified. A distance learning course may have audio
recordings and video material and must include interactions, instruction and student participation. A course that requires a student to
read text, listen to audio tapes, or view video material without student participation, feedback, and remedial instruction is not a
distance learning course.

10. “Eligible license” or “eligible status” means a license that is issued pursuant  to article 2 of this chapter to a licensee who possesses an
license during the current license period but is not engaged by or on behalf of a broker and is prohibited from performing activities
which require an active license.

11. “Immediate family” means persons related to an individual by blood, marriage, or adoption, including spouse, siblings, parents,
grandparents, children, and grandchildren.

12. “Inactive license” or “inactive status” in addition to Section 32-2101(29), means a license or period in which a licensee is prohibited
from performing activities which require an active license.

“Individual” means a natural person.

13. “Material change” means any significant change in the size or character of the development, development plan, or interest being
offered, or a change that has a significant effect on the rights, duties, or obligations of the developer or purchaser, or use and
enjoyment of the property by the purchaser.

14. “Non-resident license” means a license authorized under the provisions of 32-2122(A) issued to a person who has been domiciled in
this state for less than one year and who does not meet any of the following:

a. Has an Arizona driver’s license;

b. Has an Arizona motor vehicle registration;

c. Has been employed in Arizona;

d. Has an Arizona voter registration;

e. Has transferred banking services to Arizona;

f. Has changed permanent address on all pertinent records;

g. Is a domestic corporation or limited liability company;

h. Has filed an Arizona income tax return with the Department of Revenue during the previous or current tax year; or

i. Has received benefits from any Arizona public service department or agency, such as welfare, food stamps, unemployment
benefits, or worker’s compensation.

15. “Property interest” means a person’s ownership or control of a lot, parcel, unit, share, use in a development, including any right in a
subdivided or unsubdivided land, a cemetery plot, a condominium, a time-share interval, a membership camping contract, or a stock
cooperative.

16. “Residency” means an individual who has a place of habitation in Arizona and lives in Arizona as other than a tourist, or a person that
owns or operates a place of business in Arizona.
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Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-01 repealed, new Section R4-28-01 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective August 1,

1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-01 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-101 (Supp. 87-1). Former Section
R4-28-101 renumbered to R4-28-102, new Section R4-28-101 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3,

1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2). Amended by final
rulemaking at 8 A.A.R. 3640, effective August 6, 2002 (Supp. 02-3). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective

March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-102. Document Filing; Computation of Time
A. All documents shall be considered filed on the date received by the Department. An original or A renewal application postmarked on

or before the end of the application or renewal deadline shall be considered timely.
B. In computing any period of time allowed by these rules or by an order of the Commissioner, the day of the act, event, or default from

which the designated period of time begins to run is not included. The last day of the period is included unless it is Saturday, Sunday,
or a legal State holiday in which event the period runs until the end of the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State legal
holiday. Unless the time period is specified as calendar days, when the period of time allowed is less than 11 days, intermediate
Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays are excluded from the computation.

Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-02 repealed, new Section R4-28-02 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective March 13,

1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section R4-28-02 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-102 (Supp. 87-1). Former Section
R4-28-102 repealed, new Section R4-28-102 renumbered from R4-28-101 and amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650,

effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-103. Licensing Time-frames
A. Overall time-frame. The Department shall issue or deny a license within the overall time-frames listed in Table 1 after receipt of a

complete application. The overall time-frame is the total of the number of days provided for in the administrative completeness review
and the substantive review.

B. Administrative completeness review.
1. The applicable administrative completeness review time-frame established in Table 1 begins on the date the Department receives

the application. The Department shall notify the applicant in writing and at the earliest time deficiencies are known within the
administrative completeness review time-frame whether the application is incomplete. A The notice containing all known
deficiencies shall specify what information is missing. If the Department does not provide notice to the applicant within the
administrative completeness timeframe, the license application shall be considered complete.

2. An applicant with an incomplete license application shall supply the missing information within the completion request period
established in Table 1. The administrative completeness review time-frame is suspended from the date the Department provides
mails the notice of missing information to the applicant until the date the Department receives the information.

3. If the applicant fails to submit the missing information before the expiration of the completion request period, the Department
shall close the file, unless the applicant requests in writing and receives approval for an extension in writing from the Department
before expiration of the Response to Deficiency Notice Completion Request period in Table 1. The Department shall grant the
applicant one extension 30for the number of days identified as the Response to Completion Request period for the type of
license. An applicant whose file has been closed may reapply for obtain a license by submitting a new application.

C. Substantive review. The substantive review time-frame established in Table 1 begins after the application is administratively complete.
1. The Department may schedule an inspection.
2.1. If the Department makes a comprehensive written request for additional information, the applicant shall submit the additional

information identified by the request within the additional information period provided in Table 1. The substantive review
time-frame is suspended from the date the Department provides notice of mails the request until the information is received by
the Department. If the applicant fails to provide the information identified in the written request the Department shall consider the
application withdrawn unless the applicant requests in writing an extension from the Department before expiration of the
Response to Additional Information period in Table 1. The Department shall grant the applicant one extension for a duration of
30 daysfor the number of days identified in the Response to Additional Information period for the type of license.

3.2. If the application is denied, the Department shall send the applicant written notice explaining the reason for the denial with
citations to supporting statutes or rules, the applicant’s right to appeal the administrative decisionseek a fair hearing, and the time
period for appealing the denial.

D. Renewals. If an applicant for renewal of a salesperson’s or broker’s license submits a complete renewal application:
1. Before the expiration date and there are no changes in the applicant’s license or qualifications pursuant to R4-28-301(A), the

Department shall send the applicant notice that the license is renewed;
2. After the expiration date, or if a substantive review is required because the applicant wishes to make changes to or has answered

in the affirmative any question on the license questionnaire related to disciplinary actions or prior criminal record, the
Department shall process the application as a modified or amended application.

Historical Note
Amended as an emergency effective June 20, 1975 (Supp. 75-1). Former Section R4-28-03 repealed, new Section R4-28-03 adopted

effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-03 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-103 (Supp. 87-1).
Former Section R4-28-103 repealed, new Section R4-28-103 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3,
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1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2). Amended by final
rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-104. Development Inspection Fee
A fee shall be charged for a development site inspection pursuant to A.R.S. §§ 32-2182, 32-2194.02, 32-2195.02, 32-2197.05, and
32-2198.04, before or after issuance of a public report. Multiple inspections and fees may be required based on development circumstances.

Historical Note
New Section R4-28-104 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final

rulemaking at 8 A.A.R. 4917, effective January 5, 2003 (Supp. 02-4). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective
March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-105. Expired

Historical Note
New Section R4-28-105 made by exempt rulemaking at 19 A.A.R. 201, effective January 16, 2013 (Supp. 13-1). Section expired

under A.R.S. § 41-1056(J) at 25 A.A.R. 971, effective March 1, 2019 (Supp. 19-2).

Table 1. Time-frames (Calendar Days)

License Authority

Administrative
Completeness

Review

Response to
Deficiency

NoticeCompl
etion Request

Substantiv
e

Review

Response to
Additional
Information

Overall
Time-frame

Broker or Salesperson
(Individual)
Individual Renewal
Modified/Amended
(Change of Name, Address,
or License Status)

Individual Reinstatement

Corp/LLC/Partnership/
PC/PLC/Desig. Broker
Status
Branch Office
Entity/DB status Renewal

Modified/Amended
(Change of Name, Address,
or License Status)

Entity Reinstatement

Temporary Broker
Temp Cemetery
Salesperson

Membership Camping Cert.
of Convenience

A.R.S. § 32-2122
A.A.C. R4-28-301
A.A.C. R4-28-303
A.A.C. R4-28-303

A.A.C. R4-28-303

A.R.S. § 32-2125
A.A.C. R4-28-302

A.R.S. § 32-2127
A.A.C. R4-28-303

A.A.C. R4-28-303

A.A.C. R4-28-303

A.R.S. § 32-2133
A.R.S. § 32-2134

A.R.S. § 32-2134.01
A.A.C. R4-28-305

30
30
30

30

60

60
60

60

60

60
60

60

30
30
30

30

30

30
30

30

30

30
30

30

30
30
30

30

60

60
60

60

60

60
60

60

30
30
30

30

60

60
60

60

60

60
60

60

60
60
60

60

120

120
120

120

120

120
120

120

School Approval A.R.S. § 32-2135(A)
A.A.C. R4-28-404

10 15 20 15 30

Course Approval:
New (Live Instruction)
New (Distance Learning)

A.R.S. § 32-2135
A.A.C. R4-28-404
A.A.C. R4-28-402,
R4-28-404

10
30

15
30

20
90

15
30

30
120

Instructor Approval A.R.S. § 32-2135
A.A.C. R4-28-404

10 15 20 15 30

ADVERTISING
Membership Campground
(only for lottery or drawing)

A.R.S. § 32-2198.10(D)
A.R.S. § 32-2198.14

15 5 0 0 15
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Subdivision
(only for drawing or
contest)

Time-Share
(only for drawing or
contest)

Time-Share
(the offer of a premium)

A.A.C. R4-28-503(D)

A.R.S. § 32-2183.01(I)
A.A.C. R4-28-503(D)
A.A.C. R4-28-503(D)

A.R.S. § 32-2197.17(I)
A.A.C. R4-28-503(D)
A.R.S. § 32-2197.17(K)
A.A.C. R4-28-503(D)

15

15

15

5

5

5

0

0

0

0

0

0

15

15

15

Development Application

Amended Report

Certificate of Authority
Amended Certificate

A.R.S. § 32-2183(A)
A.R.S. § 32-2195.03(A)
A.R.S. § 32-2197.06
A.R.S. § 32-2198.02
A.A.C. R4-28-B1203
A.R.S. § 32-2184
A.R.S. § 32-2195.10
A.R.S. § 32-2197.03
A.R.S. § 32-2198.01(D)
A.A.C. R4-28-B1203
A.R.S. § 32-2194.03(A)
A.R.S. § 32-2194.10
A.A.C. R4-28-B1204

40

30

40
30

40

30

40
30

60

30

60
30

40

30

40
30

100

60

100
60

WAIVERS
Pre-license

Continuing Education

A.R.S. § 32-2124
A.A.C. R4-28-401
A.R.S. § 32-2130
A.R.S. R4-28-402

15

5

60

10

30

7

0

0

45

12

EXEMPTIONS
Subdivision

Unsubdivided Land

Time-Share
Membership Camping

A.R.S. § 2181.01
A.A.C. R4-28-B1202
A.R.S. § 32-2195.01
A.A.C. R4-28-B1202
A.R.S. § 32-2197.13
A.R.S. § 32-3198.03

40

40

40
40

40

40

40
40

40

40

40
40

40

40

40
40

80

80

80
80

Historical Note
New Table 1 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 6

A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005
(Supp. 05-1).

ARTICLE 2. REPEALED
R4-28-201. Repealed

Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-04 repealed, new Section R4-28-04 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective March 13,

1981 (Supp. 81-2). Amended effective August 1, 1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-04 renumbered and amended as
R4-28-201 effective February 28, 1987 (Supp. 87-1). Amended effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1). Section R4-28-201

repealed by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

ARTICLE 3. LICENSURE
R4 28 301. General License Requirements; Non-resident License
A. An applicant for any Department-issued license or license renewal including, if an entity, any officer, director, member, manager,

partner, owner, trust beneficiary holding 10% or more beneficial interest, stockholder owning 10% or more stock, or other person
exercising control of the entity, shall submit the following information to the Department:
1. A signed original licensure or renewal questionnaire, as applicable, disclosing any:

a. Conviction for a misdemeanor or felony, or deferral of a judgment or sentencing for a misdemeanor or felony;
b. Order, judgment, or adverse decision entered against the applicant involving fraud or dishonesty, or involving the conduct of

any business or transaction in real estate, cemetery property, time-share intervals, membership camping contracts, or
campgrounds;
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c. Restriction, suspension, or revocation of a professional or occupational license, or registration currently or previously held
by the applicant in any state, district, or possession of the United States or under authority of any federal or state agency; any
civil penalty imposed under the license, or any denial of a license; or

d. Order, judgment, or decree permanently or temporarily enjoining the applicant from engaging in or continuing any conduct
or practice in connection with the sale or purchase of real estate or cemetery property, time-share intervals, membership
camping contracts, campgrounds, securities, or involving consumer fraud or violation of the racketeering laws by the
applicant, or payment from a recovery fund or fund of last resort due to the applicant’s action or inaction.

2. If the applicant discloses information under subsection (A)(1), the applicant shall provide all of the following written
documentation:
a. A signed written statement describing in detail the circumstances surrounding the matter disclosed;
b. An electronic copy of all certified records, including A certified copy of any police report and court recordsrecord,

pertaining that pertains to each crime for which the applicant has been convicted or for which sentencing or judgment has
been deferred. If the applicant is unable to provide documents for each crime, the applicant shall provide written
documentation from the court or agency having jurisdiction, stating the reason the records are unavailable.

c. Three written and dated references from individuals, 18 years or older and not related by blood or marriage to the applicant,
who have known the applicant for at least one year before the date of the Department’s receipt of the application. Each
reference shall be dated no more than one year from the date the application is submitted to the Department and include the
writer’s name, address, and telephone number;

d. A 10-year work history, stating each employer’s name and address, supervisor’s name and telephone number, position held,
and dates of employment, specifying any periods of unemployment;

e.c. An electronic copy of all certified A certified copy of all documents pertaining to every reprimand, censure or sanction,
order assessing a civil penalty, or denying, suspending, restricting, or revoking any professional or occupational license
currently held or held by the applicant within the last 10 years;

f.d. An electronic copy of certified documents related to A certified copy of any civil judgment awarded by a court of competent
jurisdiction against the applicant that included findings of fraud or dishonest dealings by the applicant;

g.e. An electronic copy of any certified documents A certified copy of any document evidencing a payment of a judgment on
behalf of the applicant by any recovery fund administered by any state or professional or occupational licensing board, or
repayment by the applicant as a judgment debtor to any recovery fund administered by any state or professional or
occupational licensing board. If an Arizona real estate or subdivision recovery fund matter, a written disclosure of the file
number, approximate date, and approximate amount of payment and current repayment status satisfies this requirement.

h.f. An electronic copy of any certified documents relating to A certified copy of any temporary or permanent orders order of
injunction entered against the applicant;

i.g. Any other documentation that the applicant believes supports the applicant’s qualifications for licensure, including evidence
of restitution or otherwise remedying of any issues listed above.

3. A valid fingerprint clearance card full set of fingerprints as prescribed in A.R.S. § 32-2108.01;
4. The appropriate license application and fee; and
5. Social security number, if the applicant is an individual, as prescribed by A.R.S. § 25-320.

B. In addition to the information required in subsection (A), an applicant for a salesperson’s or broker’s license shall provide information
showing the person meets meet the experience and education qualifications listed in A.R.S. § 32-2124, A.A.C. R4-28-401, and
R4-28-403. If disclosing censure, sanction, disciplinary action, or other order against any professional or occupational license
currently or previously held by the applicant, the applicant shall submit a certified license history from each state in which the
applicant holds, or has held, a professional or occupational license within the five years before the application.

C. The Department shall not issue a broker’s license to any person who holds an active salesperson’s license in this state. An active-status
salesperson applying for broker’s license may simultaneously submit a severance signed by the designated broker on behalf of the
salesperson’s employing broker under R4-28-303(E)(10) or may request to be administratively severed under R4-28-303(G).

D. The Department shall issue to a qualified person a license bearing the legal name of the licensee and any additional nickname,
corporate, or dba name, corporate name if an entity license, or name to be used by a self-employed broker that the Commissioner finds
is not detrimental to the public interest and not otherwise prohibited by statute. A professional corporation or professional limited
liability company licensed under A.R.S. § 32-2125(B) shall not adopt a dba name.

E. Every salesperson and broker holding a current license shall file with the Commissioner both the address of the salesperson’s or
broker’s principal place of business, or the address of the statutory agent as filed with the Department if any, and a current residence
address.

F. Unless a license or approval is in a terminated, revoked, or surrendered status, each Each salesperson, broker, school owner, director,
administrator, and instructor shall, within 10 days of each occurrence, notify the Commissioner in writing of any change in
information provided under subsection (A)(1)(a) through (d) and provide documentation listed in subsection (A)(2).

G. A licensee shall, within 14 calendar days or a later date determined by the Department, respond to a request from the Commissioner or
the Commissioner’s representative for any documents, electronic files, written statements, or other information required as a part of a
complaint investigation, regardless of whether the licensee is named in the complaint.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Amended effective August 1, 1986

(Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-05 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-301 (Supp. 87-1). Amended subsection (C)
effective May 3, 1988 (Supp. 88-2). Amended subsection (J) effective February 28, 1989 (Supp. 89-1). Amended effective
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February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).
Amended by final rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R.

506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4 28 302. Employing Broker’s License; Non-resident Broker
A. A person applying for an employing broker’s license shall provide the following information:

1. The name, business address, telephone number, fax number and e-mail address, if any, and designated broker’s name, license
number and expiration date, and the signature of the designated broker;

2. Whether the broker is an individual, a sole proprietorship, corporation, partnership, limited liability company, professional
corporation or professional limited liability company;

3. The mailing address, if different than the business address;
4. The d.b.a. name, if applicable;
5. The bank name and location of each of the broker’s trust accounts, if any; and
6. The name and number of the trust account.

B. Partnership.
1. When the applicant is a partnership, the applicant shall name a broker to serve as designated broker:

a. The designated broker shall be a partner of the general partner if the general partner is a partnership.
b. The designated broker shall be a corporate officer of the corporate partner if the general partner is a corporation.
c. The designated broker shall be a member of the member-managed limited liability company or manager of the

manager-managed limited liability company if the general partner is a limited liability company.
d. A limited partner of a partnership shall not be designated broker for the partnership.

2. In addition to the information provided in subsection (A), an applicant for an employing broker’s license as a partnership shall, if
applicable, provide:
a. The name and address of each partner, and the name of any other person with a beneficial or membership interest in the

partnership;
b. An agreement signed by all partners, stating the name of the partner appointed to act as the designated broker for the

partnership;
c. A written statement signed by the designated broker stating that:

i. The partnership has applied for a broker’s license in Arizona;
ii. Each partner has read the complete application on the named partnership as submitted to the Department;
iii. All the information contained in the application is true;
iv. Each general partner is qualified to do business in Arizona; and
v. The name of the partnership complies with A.R.S. § 29-245 and subsections (H) and (I), and is not likely to be

misleading or confusing;
d. A copy of the partnership agreement and any amendments;
e. A copy of the application for partnership registration stamped “Received and Filed” by the Arizona Secretary of State; and
f. Any other information required by the Department to verify the applicant’s qualifications.

C. Corporation. In addition to the information provided in subsection (A), an applicant for an employing broker’s license for a
corporation shall provide:
1. The name and address of each officer and director, and the name and address of each shareholder controlling or holding more

than 10% of the issued and outstanding common shares, or 10% of any other proprietary, beneficial, or membership interest in
the corporation;

2. A copy of the Articles of Incorporation and any amendments stamped “Received and Filed” by the Arizona Corporation
Commission. If more than one year has elapsed between the date the Articles were stamped “Filed” by the Arizona Corporation
Commission and the application for the corporate license, a Certificate of Good Standing from the Arizona Corporation
Commission is required;

3. A corporate resolution stating that the designated broker was elected or appointed as a corporate officer, naming the office held,
and stating that the individual was appointed to act as designated broker for the corporation;

4. A written statement signed by the designated broker stating that:
a. The corporation has applied for a broker’s license in Arizona;
b. Each officer and director has read the complete application on the named corporation as submitted to the Department;
c. All the information contained in the application is true;
d. The name of the corporation complies with A.R.S. § 10-401 and 4 A.A.C. 28, Article 10, and is not likely to be misleading

or confusing; and
e. Each corporation is qualified to do business in Arizona; and

5. Any other information required by the Department to verify the applicant’s qualifications.
D. Limited liability company. In addition to the information provided in subsection (A), an applicant for an employing broker’s license

for a limited liability company shall provide:
1. The name and address of each member and manager, and the name and address of any person controlling or holding more than

10% of the membership interest in the limited liability company;
2. A copy of the Articles of Organization and any amendments stamped “Received and Filed” by the Arizona Corporation

Commission. If more than one year has elapsed between the date the Articles were stamped “Filed” by the Arizona Corporation
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Commission and the application for the limited liability company license, a Certificate of Good Standing from the Arizona
Corporation Commission is required;

3. A company resolution signed by all members stating whether management of the limited liability company is established as
manager-controlled or member-controlled and the name of the member or manager appointed to act as the designated broker;

4. A written statement signed by the designated broker stating that:
a. The limited liability company has applied for a broker’s license in Arizona;
b. Each member and manager has read the complete application on the limited liability company as submitted to the

Department;
c. All of the information contained in the application is true;
d. The name of the limited liability company complies with A.R.S. § 29-602 and 4 A.A.C. 28, Article 10, and is not likely to

be misleading or confusing; and
e. The limited liability company is qualified to do business in Arizona.

5. A copy of the operating agreement and any amendments; and
6. Any other information required by the Department to verify the applicant’s qualifications.

E. Foreign entity. In addition to the requirements in this Section, the Department may require any of the following information from an
entity applying for a broker’s license if a partner, member, officer, or director of the entity is domiciled in another state:
1. The agreement and plan of merger;
2. The Certificate of Good Standing;
3. The Certificate of Merger on file in the state in which the applicant is domiciled;
4. The Certificate of Merger on file with the Arizona Corporation Commission;
5. A filed and stamped Articles of Merger;
6. A filed and stamped application for registration of the foreign limited liability company, foreign corporation, or partnership;
7. Any other information required by the Department to verify the applicant’s qualifications.

F. Self-employed broker. In addition to the information provided in subsection (A), any person applying as a self-employed broker shall
provide a sworn statement attesting that the applicant is the sole proprietor of the business.

G. If any information prescribed in subsections (A) through (F) changes, the designated broker shall, within 10 days after the change, file
a supplemental statement in writing with the Department listing the change and include the appropriate fee, if any.

H. The Department shall not license an employing broker or authorize an employing broker to do business under a dba name similar to
that of any employing broker already licensed if the name would cause uncertainty or confusion to the public. If there is a conflict of
names between two employing brokers, the Commissioner shall require the employing broker seeking licensure to supplement or
otherwise modify the broker’s name.

I. The Department shall not license an employing broker under more than one dba name and a person shall not conduct or promote real
estate business under any name other than the name under which the person is licensed.

J. A broker shall not employ a salesperson or associate broker and allow a the salesperson or associate broker licensed through the
brokerage to conduct licensed activity establish and carry on a brokerage business if the broker’s only interest is the receipt of a fee for
the use of the license and the broker does not exercise supervision over the salesperson or associate broker.

K. Change of designated broker.
1. To resign as an employing broker’s designated broker a broker shall submit to the Department a copy of the broker’s letter of

resignation and shall return the licenses issued to the designated broker and the employing broker to the Department.
2. A licensed entity may remove its designated broker by submitting to the Department a copy of the partnership agreement,

corporate or company resolution removing the broker and returning to the Department the licenses issued to the employing
broker and designated broker.

3. The employing broker whose designated broker has resigned or been removed shall cease conducting business until the
employing broker has complied with subsection (K)(4).

4. An employing broker whose designated broker has resigned or been removed may continue business without interruption if the
incoming designated broker on the same day as, or the next business day following, the departure or removal of the outgoing
designated broker:
a. Completes, signs, and submits the Change Form as prescribed in R4-28-303; and
b. If the entity is a corporation or limited liability company, submits a resolution appointing the new broker to act on its

behalf;, or;
c. If the entity is a partnership, submits an amendment to the partnership agreement naming the new broker to act on its behalf.

L. Non-resident employing broker.
1. An employing broker that holds a non-resident license and maintains a principal office outside this state shall:

a. Maintain a trust account or licensed escrow account situated in Arizona for monies received from Arizona transactions;
b. Maintain immediately available , in Arizona, copies of all documents pertaining to any Arizona transactions handled by the

broker, where “immediately available” means the licensee’s ability to provide the records at the time of the request by the
Department;

c. Provide a written statement to the Department identifying the name, address, and telephone number of the person residing in
Arizona, such as a statutory agent or attorney, who has possession of the records; and

d. Identify the physical location of the records.
2. An employing broker that holds a non-resident license and employs a licensed salesperson or broker within the state shall:

a. Establish an office in Arizona and appoint a branch manager and provide a statement describing how the licensed employee
shall be supervised, or;; and
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b. Notify the Department of a valid statutory agent pursuant to A.R.S.  § 32-2126.Provide a statement describing how the
licensed employee shall be supervised.

3. An employing broker who holds a non-resident license shall notify the Department within 10 days of any change to any
information required under this Section.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Correction, Supp. 80-3 should read

Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 83-3). Amended subsection (B) effective August 1, 1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section
R4-28-06 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-302 (Supp. 87-1). Amended effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1).

Former Section R4-28-302 repealed, new Section R4-28-302 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3,
1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-303. License Renewal; Reinstatement; Changes of Personal Information, License, or License Status; Professional
Corporation or Professional Limited Liability Company Licensure; Administrative Severance
A. Renewal.

1. If a salesperson or broker makes a timely and substantively complete sufficient application for license renewal or a new license
with reference to any activity of a continuing nature, the existing license does not expire until the application has been finally
determined by the Department, and, in case the application is denied or the terms of the new license limited, until the last day for
seeking review of the Commissioner’s order or a later date fixed by order of the reviewing court.

2. Any salesperson or broker applying for a license renewal shall submit the following information on the Application for License
Renewal form:
a. Any change or correction to the applicant’s licensing information;
b. Whether the renewal application is late;
c. If the renewal is for an active license and is filed in paper format, the Department shall require the application to include the

date and signature of the designated broker, authorized branch office manager, or authorized designee under A.R.S. §
32-2127(D). If signed by a branch manager or designee, the branch manager or designee shall attach a copy of the
authorization or designation;

d.c. The signature of the applicant, attesting to the truthfulness of the application information;
e.d. A completed disciplinary actions disclosure formcertification questionnaire, providing sufficient details and supporting

documents for any affirmative response not previously disclosed in writing to the Department concerning judgments, orders,
professional licenses, or convictions, as required under R4-28-301(A).

f.e. To renew as designated broker for an employing broker, the designated broker shall complete and submit a signed Broker
Supervision & Control Audit Declaration for the sole proprietorship or entity on whose behalf the broker acts as designated
broker. The completed declaration shall:
i. Be dated and filed before or with the broker’s renewal application, and submitted to the Department no earlier than 90

days before the broker’s license expiration date;
ii. Be in the form prescribed by the Department;
iii. State the broker’s compliance or non-compliance with, or the non-applicability of, specified statutes and rules; and
iv. Identify all of the broker’s property management and trust accounts.

B. Late renewal. In addition to the information required in subsection (A), any person applying for renewal after the date of license
expiration shall specify whether the person conducted unlawful license activities as described in R4-28-306.

C. Reinstatement.
1. Any salesperson or broker applying for license reinstatement under A.R.S. § 32-2131 shall, in addition to the requirements in

R4-28-301(A), submit the following information on the Application For Reinstatement form:
a. The type of license and status requested;
b. The applicant’s legal name, business address, and telephone number;
c. Whether the license was suspended, canceled, terminated, or revoked, and the date of and reason for the action;
d. The license number of the applicant;
e. The mailing address, if different than the business address;
f. The name, address, and telephone number of the employing broker, if applicable;
g. The employer’s trade or d.b.a. name, if any;
h. The date of the application; and
i. The signature of the applicant attesting to the above information and that the applicant is aware of the provisions in A.R.S.

§§ 32-2131, 32-2153, and 32-2160.01.
2. If the license was active at the time of suspension, cancellation, revocation, or termination, the applicant shall provide the

information required under R4-28-306.
D. A salesperson or broker shall notify the Department in writing within 10 days of any change in the individual’s personal information

or qualifications. The salesperson or broker shall include in the notice the individual’s name, signature, license number, and:
1. If disclosing information required under R4-28-301, such as a criminal conviction, adverse judgment, denial or restriction of or

disciplinary action against a professional or occupational license, or recovery fund payment on the person’s behalf, a written
statement providing detailed information and, upon request by the Department, the supporting documentation identified in
R4-28-301(A)(2);

2. If requesting a change of personal name, written notice stating the prior name and new name, supporting documentation for the
change, and applicable fee;
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3. If changing address of record or residence address or residential mailing address, written notice stating the prior address, new
address and the date of the change;

4. If changing email address or residence telephone number or providing an additional telephone number or e-mail address, written
notice of the prior and current number or e-mail address; or

5. If becoming licensed as a professional corporation or professional limited liability company, or changing licensure as a
professional corporation or professional limited liability company, the information required under subsection (F).

E. A designated broker shall notify the Department in writing within 10 days of any change in the employing broker’s qualifications
under R4-28-301, and shall provide notice of any proposed change in the employing broker’s business information under this Section.
An employing broker shall not conduct business under information described in subsections (E)(2), (3), (7), (9), (12), or (13) until the
change is approved by the Department. The designated broker shall include in the written notice the designated broker’s name and
signature, the employing broker’s legal name, and:
1. If disclosing information required under R4-28-301 such as an adverse judgment, bankruptcy, denial, or restriction of or

disciplinary action against a professional or occupational license, or recovery fund payment on the person’s own behalf or on
behalf of any officer, director, member, manager, partner, owner, trust beneficiary holding 10 percent or more beneficial interest,
stockholder owning 10 percent or more stock, or other person exercising control of the employing broker, file with the
Department a written statement within 10 days of the occurrence, providing detailed information and, upon request by the
Department, the supporting documentation identified in R4-28-301(A)(2);

2. If changing the employing broker’s legal name, written notice stating the current name and proposed name, supporting
documentation, and applicable fee;

3. If changing the employing broker’s dba name, written notice stating the current dba name, if any, the proposed dba name, and
applicable fee;

4. If changing the employing broker’s physical address of record, changing or adding a business mailing address, or changing the
address of any branch office, written notice within 10 days of the change stating the prior address and new address, return all
current licenses issued to the former address, and pay the applicable fee;

5. If changing business telephone number or email of record, written notice within 10 days of the change, providing the prior and
current number or email address. The broker may provide additional telephone numbers or e-mail addresses;

6. If changing the structure or membership of the employing broker as provided in A.R.S. § 32-2125 (G), written notice within 10
days of the change including supporting documentation identified in R4-28-302;

7.6. If changing branch office managers at an established branch office of the employing broker, or changing the authority delegated
to the branch office manager, the application form, and applicable fee, and letter of authority that identifies the person appointed
and specifies the duties delegated as provided by R4-28-304;

8.7. If closing a branch office, a written statement informing the Department within 10 days of the closure, accompanied by the
branch office license and submitting the Department form for branch office closure and severing the employment of or
transferring to another branch office each employee at the branch;

9.8. If hiring a salesperson or broker, or transferring a salesperson or broker employed by the employing broker to another office of
the employing broker, submitting a form prescribed by the Commissioner a change form that includes the name, license number,
signature of the employee, and the branch office address where the employee will work, and applicable fee;

10. If severing a licensee employed by the employing broker, written notice and return of the employee’s license within 10 days of
the severance;

11.9.If opening or closing a broker’s trust account, written notice within 10 days of the opening or closing that provides the name of
the account, the account number, and the name and address of the bank where the account is located. If relocating or changing the
name of a trust account, the designated broker shall include the information for the previous and new accounts;

12.10. If appointing a temporary broker, submit the information specified in R4-28-305 and in accordance with provisions of
A.R.S. §§ 32-2127 or 32-2133, as applicable; or

13.11. If an employing broker is changing designated brokers, the information and documentation provided in R4-28-302(K).
F. In addition to the applicant’s name, signature, license number, the name and address of the employing broker’s office license number

where the employee will work, and the change fee, a salesperson or broker shall submit the following information to be licensed as a
professional corporation or professional limited liability company, to add or remove members of a licensed professional corporation or
professional limited liability company, or to change the name of a licensed professional corporation or professional limited liability
company:
1. Professional corporation.

a. The name of the professional corporation that includes the full or last name of each officer, director, and shareholder of the
professional corporation as it appears in the Articles of Incorporation;

b. The name and business address of each officer, director, and shareholder in the corporation and a written statement that each
holds a current and active real estate license;

c. A copy of the Articles of Incorporation, as amended and filed with the Arizona Corporation Commission, stamped
“Received and Filed” by the Arizona Corporation Commission;
i. The Articles of Incorporation shall state that the corporation’s sole purpose is to provide professional real estate,

cemetery, or membership camping services, or real estate, cemetery, and membership camping services.
ii. If more than one year has elapsed between the date the Articles of Incorporation were stamped “Filed” by the Arizona

Corporation Commission and the date of the application for a license as a professional corporation, the Department
shall require the salesperson or associate broker to submit a Certificate of Good Standing from the Arizona Corporation
Commission; and
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d. Evidence that membership in the professional corporation is limited to the designated broker and does not include any other
person if the applicant for licensure as a professional corporation is licensed as a designated broker;

2. Professional limited liability company.
a. The name of the professional limited liability company which includes the full or last name of each member of the

professional limited liability company as it appears in the Articles of Organization;
b. The name and address of each member and manager in the limited liability company and a written statement that each holds

a current and active real estate license;
c. A copy of the Articles of Organization, as amended and filed with , stamped “Received and Filed” by the Arizona

Corporation Commission;:
i. The Articles of Organization shall state that the limited liability company’s sole purpose is to provide professional real

estate, cemetery, or membership camping services, or real estate, cemetery, and membership camping services.
ii. If more than one year has elapsed between the date the Articles of Organization were stamped “Filed” by the Arizona

Corporation Commission and the date of the application for a license as a professional limited liability company, the
Department shall require the salesperson or associate broker to submit a certificate of Good Standing from the Arizona
Corporation Commission.

d. A copy of the operating agreement, as amended; and
e. Evidence that membership in the professional limited liability company is limited to the designated broker and does not

include any other person if the applicant for licensure as a professional limited liability company is licensed as a designated
broker.

3. To return a license from professional corporation or professional limited liability company status to individual status:
a. The name, license number, and dated signature of the salesperson or broker;
b. Department change formA written statement that the salesperson or broker no longer wishes to be licensed as a professional

corporation or professional limited liability company; and
c. The change fee.

G. Administrative severance.
1. A salesperson or broker may request that the Department sever the salesperson’s or broker’s license from the employing broker.

The salesperson or broker shall provide the following information on a form or in the manner prescribed by the Department:
a. The name, license number, and dated signature of the salesperson or broker seeking the severance; and
b. The name of the employing broker from whom the license is being severed.

2. Upon receipt of the written request for severance as provided in subsection (G)(1)(a), the Department shall administratively sever
the license and provide written notice to the employing broker, who shall return the severed person’s license to the Department
under subsection (E)(10).

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Amended effective August 1, 1986

(Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-07 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-303 (Supp. 87-1). Amended by adding a
new subsection (K) effective May 3, 1988 (Supp. 88-2). Amended effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1). Former Section
R4-28-303 repealed, new Section R4-28-303 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp.
99-1). Subsection (F) amended to correct a manifest clerical error, filed in the Office of the Secretary of State March 29, 1999

(Supp. 99-3). Amended by final rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2). Amended by final rulemaking
at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-304. Branch Office; Branch Office Manager
A. To obtain a branch office license, the designated broker shall submit to the Department before operating the branch office the

following information for each branch office of the employing broker on the Application for Branch Office form:
1. The name, date, and signature of the designated broker;
2. The license number and license expiration date of the employing broker;
3. The name, address of record, telephone, email address, and license number of the main office;
4. The type of employing broker’s license;
5.4. The employing broker’s dba name, if applicable;
6.5. The address of record, telephone number, email address of record, and fax number, if any, of the branch office; and
7.6. The name and license number and license status of the salesperson or broker who is the branch office manager and the authority

granted to the branch office manager, including any designation of authority under subsection (B).
B. Branch office manager. A designated broker may authorize in writing an associate broker or salesperson to act as a branch office

manager to perform any of the following duties of the designated broker at the branch office.  A designated broker must maintain any
letters of authority required under R4-28-303(E)(7) specifying which duties the branch manager is permitted to perform. Any associate
broker or salesperson with delegated duties becomes responsible, in addition to the designated broker, for the supervision of licensees
licensed through the branch for those duties. This designation does not relieve the designated broker from any responsibilities. Upon
change of the branch manager, the designated broker shall submit a new authorization to the Department within 10 days of the change
and shall retain a copy in the broker’s main office for five years beyond either the closure of the branch or the removal of the authority,
whichever occurs earliest.
1. If the branch manager is an associate broker, the associate broker may, when dealing with branch office transactions:

a. Review and initial contracts,
b. Supervise the activity of salespersons and associate brokers,
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c. Hire or sever a salesperson or associate broker,
d. Sign compensation checks,
e. Be a signer on the branch office trust account and property management trust account,
f. Write checks from the broker’s trust accounts, and
g. Be responsible for the handling of all trust account funds administered by the branch manager.

2. If the branch manager is a salesperson, the salesperson may, when dealing with branch office transactions:
a. Perform office management tasks that are not statutory duties of the designated or employing broker, and
b. Be a signer on the broker’s trust account and property management trust account.

C. Temporary office. An additional license is not required for a temporary office established for the original on site sale of properties
within the immediate area of a subdivision or unsubdivided land.
1. The broker named in the application for public report shall supervise operation of the temporary office to sell or lease the

subdivided or unsubdivided land.
2. The broker shall display the subdivision or unsubdivided land name and the licensed name of the employing broker marketing the

development in a prominent manner at the entrance to the temporary office.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended subsection (A) effective June 23, 1983 (Supp. 83-3). Amended subsection

(A)(4) effective August 1, 1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-08 renumbered and amended as Section R4-28-304 effective
February 28, 1987 (Supp. 87-1). Former Section R4-28-304 repealed, new Section R4-28-304 adopted by final rulemaking at 5
A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005

(Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-305. Temporary License, Certificate of Convenience
A. Any individual applying for a temporary cemetery salesperson’s license, a temporary broker’s license, or a membership camping

salesperson’s certificate of convenience shall submit the following information and applicable fee to the Department:
1. The type of license requested;
2. The name, address, telephone number, and date of birth of the applicant;
3. The mailing address if different from the address in subsection (A)(2);
4. The name, address of record, email of record and, telephone number of record business address, telephone number, fax number, if

any, and license number of the employing broker; and
5. The branch office license number, address, telephone number, and fax number, if any, where employed, if different than the

employing broker in subsection (A)(4).
B. The designated broker shall submit an affidavit under A.R.S. § 32-2134 or 32-2134.01 for:

1. An applicant for temporary cemetery license stating that the applicant has been trained in cemetery and contract law; or
2. An applicant for a membership camping certificate of convenience stating that the applicant will be trained in membership

camping and contract laws.
C. In addition to the information required in subsection (A), an applicant for a temporary broker’s license pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-2133

shall submit the following information to the Department:
1. A copy of the death certificate or notice, if applicable, or a letter advising the Department of the broker’s illness or disability; and
2. A letter from the surviving spouse, an attorney representing the broker or the broker’s family, personal representative, or other

responsible party, appointing an individual to serve as a temporary broker for 90 days for the purpose of closing down the
business or installing a new designated broker pursuant to Subsection C of Section 32-2125.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended subsection (A) effective June 23, 1983 (Supp. 83-3). Amended subsection

(A)(4) and (5) effective August 1, 1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-09 renumbered without change as Section
R4-28-305 (Supp. 87-1). Former Section R4-28-305 repealed, new Section R4-28-305 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R.
650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp.

05-1).

R4-28-306. Unlawful License Activity
A. Unlawful license activity is:

1. The performance of acts requiring a license under A.R.S. § 32-2122 by a person who fails to hold a license or holds a license that
is not active does not hold a current and active license;

2. The performance of acts requiring a license by a person on behalf of a broker other than the person’s employing broker; or
3. A broker’s employment of a person as a salesperson or broker if the person does not hold an a current and active license issued to

the person under that employing broker.
B. A person who conducts unlawful license activity shall submit to the Department, as soon as the person becomes aware that the activity

has occurred, the following:
1. A written explanation of why the unlawful license activity occurred;
2. A signed statement from the person that the person will not conduct activities requiring licensure under A.R.S. § 32-2122 unless

the person holds an a current and active license to perform those acts;
3. A signed statement from the employing broker’s designated broker, identifying all unlawful activity by the person on behalf of

the employing broker;
4. Upon request by the Department:
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a. A copy of all listing and employment agreements, offers or contract to buy, sell, lease, exchange, transfer, or manage real
estate, cemetery property, or membership camping contracts prepared, negotiated or executed by the person while the person
was not properly licensed under the employing broker;

b. Documentation listing all compensation received or to be received by the person based on transactions that occurred while
the person was not properly licensed;

c. Documentation listing all compensation received or to be received by the person’s employing broker and designated broker,
if any, resulting from transactions that occurred while the person was not properly licensed if not provided in response to
subsection (B)(4)(b); and

d. A signed statement from the person stating that the information provided under subsection (B)(4) is true and complete and
that the copies provided are true copies of all contracts, agreements, statements, and leases and no relevant documents are
omitted.

C. A person who has no prior history of engaging in unlawful license activity under this Section, who conducted unlawful license activity
for not more than 30 days and against whom there are no pending complaints may apply to renew the person’s license or for license
change to active status. The Department shall not delay processing the application based on the unlawful licensed activity. The
Department shall issue an Advisory Letter of Concern to the person.

D. The Commissioner may take disciplinary action under A.R.S. § 32-2153 against a person who engages in unlawful license activity
under this Section for longer than 30 days, has previously conducted unlawful license activity, or is the subject of a pending complaint.

Historical Note
New Section made by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-307. Inactive License

A. Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-2130, an active licensee must sever from the employing brokerage before requesting inactive status.  On
forms prescribed by the Commissioner, the active licensee may then request the Department inactivate the licensee’s current license
for a period not to exceed 15 years.  A license in an inactive status is not required to complete continuing education credit hour
requirements until such time that the licensee applies to return their license to active status. Inactive status shall not relieve the licensee
from renewing and paying the required fees.

B. Failure of an inactive licensee to pay the required renewal fee and to renew will result in the expiration of the license.  An expired
inactive license will remain expired for one year and may be renewed within that year to return to inactive status.   The department
shall terminate an inactive license that has been expired for more than one year.

C. The Department must change the license to inactive upon receipt of a complete application to change an active license to inactive. 
The Department may not refund any of the license renewal fee a licensee paid before requesting inactive status. 

D. The holder of an inactive license is prohibited from performing activities which require an active license until the license is reactivated
as an active license.  

E. An inactive licensee must not act directly or indirectly in a transaction without informing the other parties in the transaction, in writing
and before the parties enter any binding agreement, of a present or prospective interest or conflict in the transaction, including that the:
1. Inactive salesperson or broker has a license and is acting as a principal; or
2. Inactive licensee, or a member of the inactive licensee’s immediate family, has a financial interest in the transaction.

F. The inactive status of a license does not prevent the Commissioner from taking any disciplinary action against the licensee for any of
the grounds stated in this chapter.  

G. A license that is not suspended or revoked and that is inactive may be reactivated as an active license on thirty days’ written notice to
the Department on forms prescribed by the Commissioner. With the exception of paragraph 6 of this subsection, a licensee must
submit evidence of completion of the following number of continuing education credit hours taken not more than 24 months prior to
applying for reactivation:
1. If  inactive for less than three years, a licensee is required to complete the same number of continuing education hours as

provided for in A.R.S. § 32-2130.
2. If inactive for more than three years but less than six years, a licensee is required to complete 6 hours of the continuing education

hours in addition to the: 
a. 24 continuing education credits hours required if the license were not inactive for a salesperson, or; 
b. 30 continuing education credit hours required if the license were not inactive for a broker or licensee reactivating with

delegated authority.
3. If inactive for more than six years but less than ten years, a licensee is required to complete 15 hours of the continuing education

hours in addition to the:
a. 24 continuing education credits hours required if the license were not inactive for a salesperson, or;
b. 30 continuing education credit hours required if the license were not inactive for a broker or licensee reactivating with

delegated authority.
4. If inactive for more than 10 years but less than 15 years, a licensee is required to complete 30 hours of the continuing education

hours in addition to the: 
a. 24 continuing education credits hours required if the license were not inactive for a salesperson, or;
b. 30 continuing education credit hours required if the license were not inactive for a broker or licensee reactivating with

delegated authority.
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5. The Commissioner may identify categories or specific courses for the continuing education credit hours necessary to reactivate a
license.

6. As approved by the Commissioner, additional hours as provided for in paragraphs 2., 3., and, 4. may not be required for an
inactive licensee who has worked continuously within the real estate industry where a license was not required or the individual
was required to have an inactive license or they worked continuously within government regulation or policymaking within real
estate, or a related field.  To apply for the waiver under this paragraph, the inactive licensee must submit a waiver on forms
prescribed by the Department.

H. An examination may not be required to reactivate an inactive license if reactivated less than 15 years after changing to inactive.  If the
license is not reactivated within 15 years, a new application for licensure must be made meeting the statutory qualification
requirements for the license being applied for, to include completion of prelicensing education and successful passing of the state
required examination.

ARTICLE 4. EDUCATION
R4 28 401. Prelicensure Education Requirements; Waiver
A. Any individual applying for a real estate license shall either:

1. Complete the required 90-hour prelicensure education course and satisfactorily passed an examination on the course with a score
of at least 75 percent as prescribed in A.R.S. § 32-2124; or

2. Except for the 27-hour Arizona-specific course, apply for and be granted a waiver of the prelicensure courses.
B. If the waiver request is based on prior education, the applicant shall submit a letter to the Commissioner that includes or demonstrates:

1. The name, mailing, and business address, daytime telephone number, and signature of the applicant;
2. The type of license sought;
3. The name and city and state address of the school;
4. The course description or curriculum, including credit hours; and
5. Completion of one or more real estate courses. Acceptable evidence includes;

a. A signed letter from a school representative or official transcript from a college or university, which indicates:
i. The starting and ending dates of the course;
ii. The number of semesters, quarters, and credit hours awarded per course; and
iii. Whether the course examination was passed.

b. Evidence of course completion provided as part of a certified license history from a state in which the applicant is currently
or was previously licensed.

C. A waiver may be granted by meeting the requirement in A.R.S. § 32-4302 or if If the waiver request is based on experience, or
education and experience, the applicant shall submit a letter to the Commissioner that includes:
1. A detailed resume covering the previous 10 years, indicating duties performed and the name and telephone number for each

employer; and
2. An original certified license history, including disciplinary action if any, from the real estate regulatory agency in each state in

which the applicant is currently licensed and from any other state in which the applicant was licensed during the preceding 10
years; and

3. One or more of the following:
a. Completion of one or more real estate courses. Acceptable evidence includes a signed letter from a school representative, or

official transcript from a college or university, which identifies:
i. The starting and ending dates of the course;
ii. The number of semesters, or quarters, and credit hours awarded per course;
iii. Whether the course examination was satisfactorily passed.

b. Evidence of more than five years’ experience in a real estate related field; or
c. Evidence of course completion provided as part of a certified license history from a state in which the applicant is currently

or was previously licensed.
D. The Department shall provide a copy of the prelicensure course content to any person requesting it.
E. A person shall not receive credit for more than 10 hours of prelicensure education classes per day.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended subsections (F) and (G) effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former

Section R4-28-10 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-401 (Supp. 87-1). Amended by adding a new subsection (E) and
renumbering accordingly effective March 7, 1988 (Supp. 88-1). Amended subsection (G) effective June 6, 1989 (Supp. 89-2).

Amended effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1). Section R4-28-401 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective
February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-402. Continuing Education Requirements; Waiver; Distance Learning
A. Continuing education requirements.

1. To be eligible for license renewal, a real estate salesperson or broker shall complete continuing education courses approved by
the Department under R4-28-404, presented by a real estate school approved under R4-28-404, and taken since the salesperson’s
or broker’s original licensure or if renewing a license early, up to 90 days before the effective date of the preceding license,
whichever is later.
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2. A real estate salesperson or associate broker applying for renewal shall submit proof of satisfactory completion of 24 credit hours
of continuing education courses in the categories specified in subsection (A)(5). The renewal applicant shall complete a minimum
of three hours in each of the mandatory categories under subsections (A)(5)(a) through (A)(5)(f). The renewal applicant shall take
additional courses in the mandatory categories, or shall take courses in the business brokerage or general real estate category
categories described in subsection (A)(5)(g) and (A)(5)(h) to fulfill the required 24 credit hours.

3. A real estate designated or delegated associate broker applying for renewal shall submit proof of satisfactory completion of 24
credit hours of continuing education courses. The renewal applicant shall complete a minimum of three hours in each of the
mandatory categories under subsections (A)(5)(a) through (A)(5)(f) and shall complete a Broker Management Clinic under
A.R.S. 32-2136 approved in the Commissioner’s Standards category under subsection (A)(5)(c). The renewal applicant shall take
additional courses in the mandatory categories, or shall take courses in the business brokerage or general real estate category
categories described in subsection (A)(5)(g) and (A)(5)(h) to fulfill the required 24 credit hours.

4. A salesperson renewing for the first time may include credit for attendance at the Contract Writing class taken under A.R.S. §
32-2124(L) if taken within one year before the date of the salesperson’s original licensure. A broker renewing for the first time
may include credit for attendance at the Broker Management Clinic under A.R.S. § 32-2136 taken before the broker’s original
licensure date.

5. The categories for real estate continuing education courses are:
a. Agency law. The majority of class material concerns agency relationships, fiduciary duties, and disclosure.
b. Contract law. The majority of class material concerns the contract formation and implementation as provided for in Article

26, Section 1 of the Arizona Constitution, or the results of contract use, which may include including:
i. Various contract terms and conditions forms and clauses, fundamentals, updates, options, offers, counter offers, first

right of refusal, and exchanges, subject to, and assignments;
ii. Contract writing and elements of an enforceable contract;
iii. Required disclosures, problem-solving, and law and rule requirements;
iv. Recent court Court decisions and case law studies;
v. Breach of contract issues;
vi. Legal, ethical, and agency considerations, competency of the parties, and procedures, and disclosures;
vii. Accommodating current financing procedures, requirements, and options.

c. Arizona Statute and Administrative Code Requirements. Commissioner’s standards. The majority of class material relates to
license laws, including:
i. Article 26 of the Arizona Constitution;
ii. A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 20, and A.A.C. Title 4, Chapter 28, which includes trust accounts, recordkeeping, license

requirements, exemptions to licensure, commission payments, recovery fund provisions, development requirements,
processes for public reports for and sale of subdivided and unsubdivided land, membership campgrounds and
time-shares, cemetery regulations, and grounds for disciplinary action and hearings.

iii. Any other statutory title and chapter or administrative code directly related to the practice of real estate in the State of
Arizona. A.R.S. Title 44, Chapter 10, Article 3.1, Trade Names and Business Practices.

d. Real estate legal issues. The majority of class material concerns existing real estate law, including:
i. Sources of real estate law (constitutions, statutes, zoning, common), and the legal system;
ii. Land and its elements (air, mineral rights, water rights, real and personal property);
iii. Land, title, and interests in land, homestead, encumbrances, and the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act;
iv. Easements, fixtures, land descriptions, ownership, deeds, and building restrictions;
v. Escrow procedures, financing documents, and lending laws and regulations, including Regulation Z;
vi. Wills and estates, taxes, bankruptcy law, securities laws, title insurance, and appraisal law;
vii. Case law studies, real estate fraud, disclosure law, and interstate and international real estate;
viii. Commission issues and forms of business ownership;
ix.viii. Homeowners Association regulations;
x.ix. Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA); and
x. Judicial appointed real estate representation; and
xi. Environmental issues.

e. Fair housing. The majority of class material concerns equal opportunities in housing, including:
i. Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ADA architectural designs (construction and development), and pertinent

court cases;
ii. Arizona civil rights laws and federal fair housing laws, or any local ordinance of a similar nature, including advertising,

marketing, information, and enforcement;
iii. Housing developments, deed restrictions to include Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 33, Chapter 4, Article 7, affordable

housing, elder housing, zoning, local ordinances, and disclosures, to include group homes, sober living homes, and
other similar housing types;

iv. Commercial and residential concerns; and
v. Administrative procedures, disparate impact, and business practices.

f. Disclosure. The majority of class material concerns the following:
i. Licensee’s disclosure obligations and the timing of delivery to client and others;
ii. Seller’s and buyer’s disclosure obligations to each other;
iii. Common material facts warranting disclosure, and liability for failure to disclose;
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iv. Avoiding inadvertent non-disclosures;
v. Scope of licensee’s role in client’s review of required disclosures, to include buyer, seller, Homeowner association,

deed restriction, utilities, water access and uses, commitment for title insurance, homeowner insurance, or any other
material and reasonable interest important to the client; and Transaction documents that should be reviewed;

vi. Common “red flags” in a real estate transaction;
vii. Homeowner associations and buyers’ obligations to homeowner associations; and
viii.vii. Advising buyers and sellers of common “red flags.”

g. Business brokerage. The majority of class material concerns business brokerage including:
i. Business brokerage basics including introducing licensees to business brokerage, associated terminology, marketing,

prospecting, listing, pricing, closing practices, the use of contracts related to and unique to business brokerage, and the
application of business brokerage contracts;

ii. Business valuations and appraisals, and establishing an in-depth review of proper business valuation techniques for
small, medium, and large businesses;

iii. Tax structure and considerations, tax law, and policy including subjects such as financing tools available, options
available, and tax implications;

iv. Accounting for business brokers;
v. Agency in business brokerages, the use of contracts related to and unique to business brokerage, and the application of

business brokerage contracts; and
vi. Disclosure issues in business brokerage, including common “red flags” in a business opportunity transaction, and

advising buyers and sellers of common “red flags.” No current courses will be renewed and no new courses will be
issued effective July 1, 2024.

h. General real estate. The majority of class material concerns real estate, but does not fall within any of the categories listed in
subsections (A)(5)(a) through (A)(5)(g), including:
i. Appraisal and valuation methodologies methodology;
ii. General finance and financial analysis of real property, use of financial calculators, mathematics, and managing cash

flow;
iii. History of development in metropolitan areas, municipal general plans, economic development plans, and regional

planning bodies strategic plans; and
iv. Business brokerage;
v. Market trends and analytics; and
vi. Property Introduction to property management.

6. The Department may require an individual applying for renewal to obtain credit hours based upon significant current issues in the
real estate community. The Department shall notify licensees of a new requirement by written notice published in printed or
electronic format.

7. The Department may grant continuing education credit for a course that does not have a certificate of approval under R4-28-404
if the applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Commissioner that the course meets the requirements prescribed in
R4-28-404 and the course content requirements of this Section.

8. An applicant may substitute subject matter hours within a 90-hour broker’s prelicensure course that meet the criteria for credit
under subsections (A)(5)(a) through (A)(5)(h), if taken since the last license renewal, for the continuing education credit required
in subsection (A)(2) or (3).

9. If any change in the continuing education credit hours course requirements occurs during a renewal applicant’s license period and
the applicant has fully complied with the continuing education requirement in effect before the change occurs, the Department
shall consider the renewal applicant to be in compliance with the continuing education requirements for the license period.

B. Continuing education waiver. Under A.R.S. § 32-2130, the Commissioner may waive all or a portion of the continuing education
requirement or grant additional time to complete a continuing education requirement when a salesperson or broker submits a written
request to the Commissioner and shows good cause for the waiver or additional time.
1. Good cause may include:

a. A person employed by the state or political subdivision establishes to the satisfaction of the Commissioner that the person’s
employment during the prior license period involved real estate related matters;

b. Any officer or employee of the state whose license is on an inactive status due to a possible conflict of interest or other
employment requirement;

c. The person demonstrates successful completion of a course on topics specifically related to the person’s field of real estate
practice;

d. An approved real estate instructor requests a waiver for a course the instructor has taught;
e. The salesperson or broker demonstrates other extraordinary circumstances.

2. A salesperson or broker is granted additional time by the Commissioner to complete the continuing education requirement for
license renewal shall complete the continuing education hours by the deadline or may be subject to disciplinary action.

C. The Department shall not grant a person credit for more than nine hours of continuing education per day.
D.C.Distance learning.

1. Only a school holding a Certificate of Approval shall offer a distance learning course. The school shall obtain course approval
from the Department before advertising the course as approved by the Department for credit hours and before issuing Department
credit hours for the course to students.

2. The Department shall not approve a distance learning course unless it contains:
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a. Individual modules of instruction for delivery on a computer or other interactive program;
b. At least one learning objective for each module of instruction. The learning objective shall ensure that if all the objectives

are met, the entire content of the course is understood;
c. A structured learning method to enable the student to attain each learning objective;
d. A diagnostic assessment of the student’s performance during each module of instruction;

i. The assessment shall measure what the student learned throughout the module of instruction;, and
ii. Be scenario-based, and;
ii. Assess the comprehension of each concept covered in the module.;

e. Remediation.
i. Repetition of a module if a student is deficient in a diagnostic assessment; and
ii. Continuous repetition of the module until the student understands the content material.

3. An approved instructor shall create and maintain the content of the course.
3.4. An approved instructor shall teach and an approved instructor or the school administrator director shall grade distance learning

courses. The instructor or school director shall:
a. Provide the student with assistance, if required;
b. Obtain a signed certification statement from the student indicating that the student has completed each assignment of

instruction; and
c. Certify the student is the licensee attending and as completing a distance learning course only if the student:

i. Completes all required instructional modules,
ii. Attends any required hours of live instruction or testing, or both, for a given course; and
iii. Passes a final examination.
Certification of a student being the licensee attending and completing the course by means of using only public available
information fails to meet the requirement under this paragraph.

4.5. As part of its application for approval of a distance learning course, a school shall file a plan with the Department describing how
the school will deal with hardware and software failure.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended subsection (F) effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section

R4-28-11 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-402 (Supp. 87-1). Amended by deleting subsections (C) and (E) and
renumbering accordingly effective March 7, 1988 (Supp. 88-1). Former Section R4-28-402 renumbered to Section R4-28-403,

new Section R4-28-402 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final
rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective

March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-403. License Examinations
A. The Department shall hold, or contract for, at least one state licensing examination each week.
B. A state license examination shall not be returned to the applicant. The applicant shall be notified in person of the results of the

examination by the words “passed” or “did not pass.” The results notification for an applicant who did not pass the examination shall
also show the score for the examination and the relative score for each content area.

C. Qualifying to take or passing a license examination does not constitute a waiver of the Commissioner’s right to deny issuance of a
license if grounds exist pursuant to A.R.S. § 32 2153 or any other applicable statute.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-12 repealed, new Section R4-28-12 adopted effective August 28,

1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-12 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-403 (Supp. 87-1). Amended effective
February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1). Former Section R4-28-403 renumbered to R4-28-404, new Section R4-28-403 renumbered from

R4-28-402 and amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-404. Real Estate School Requirements, Course and Instructor Approval
A. Certificate of School Approval. Except for a community college or university accredited by the Council on Post Secondary

Accreditation or the U.S. Department of Education offering courses in real estate, any school offering a course of study for original or
renewal licensure of a real estate applicant shall apply for and possess a Certificate of School Approval from the Department. The
school’s administrator or an owner authorized representative shall provide the following information on or with the Certificate of
School Approval form:
1. The name, address, telephone number, and email addressfax number, if any, of the school;
2. The name of the owners, school legal names, owner and d.b.a. name, if any;
3. Whether the owner is a sole proprietorship, partnership, trust, limited liability company, or corporation;
4. The name, address, telephone number, and percentage ownership of each person, entity, or beneficiary holding or controlling

10% or more financial interest in the school;
5. The name of each individual authorized to act on behalf of the school and sign continuing education certificates or prelicensure

verifications, or both;
6. The name, business address of record, and telephone number of all current and prospective administrators, directors, and

instructors;
7. In addition to the information required in R4-28-301(A), each school owner, administrator, director, and instructor shall provide a

statement of the individual’s:
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a. Education,
b. Teaching experience, and
c. Employment history.

8. If the owner is a partnership, a copy of the partnership agreement naming the partner authorized to act on its behalf;
9. If the owner is a corporation or limited liability company, a copy of:

a. A corporate or company resolution or operating agreement naming the officer, member, or manager authorized to execute
the Certificate of Approval form;

b. A current Certificate of Good Standing from the Arizona Corporation Commission;
c. The latest annual report on file with the Arizona Corporation Commission;
d. The Articles of Incorporation or Organization, as amended.

10. The location of school registration and licensing certification records.
B. Certificate of Course Approval. Any school offering a course of study for original or renewal licensure of a real estate applicant shall

apply for and possess a Certificate of Course Approval for each course offered by the school. The school’s authorized representative
shall submit the following information:
1. The school name, address, telephone number, and fax number, if any;
2. The authorized representative’s name, title, and signature;
3. The title of the course;
4. A detailed outline of course material content that clearly lists the subject matter to be covered;
5. The date, time, and location of the anticipated presentation, if known;
6. The number of credit hours requested. The time allocated by a school for examination shall not be included in calculating credit

hours if the examination is used for overall evaluation.
7. The category of approval requested;
8. A definition of segments if the course is to be offered in part and in its entirety;
9. If video or audio tapes will be used as instructional aids, the percentage of the class they will comprise;
10. The name of every instructor who will teach the course; and
11. The date of the application.

C. Instructor approval. Any person wishing to teach an approved real estate course shall apply for an instructors approval, and shall have
at least one of the following in the proposed subject area:
1. A bachelor’s or master’s degree in an area traditionally associated with real estate, such as business, law, economics, marketing,

and finance;
2. An award of a generally-recognized professional real estate designation, such as Certified Commercial Investment Member,

Graduate Realtor Institute, Certified Residential Specialist, Independent Fee Appraiser, or Member of the Appraisal Institute, and
two years of postsecondary education from an accredited institution;

3. Experience in real estate, and a bachelor’s degree in education with a valid certificate issued within 15 years of the date of
application for instructor approval;

4. A real estate salesperson’s or broker’s license, and is an employee or former employee of a regulatory agency;
5. A Distinguished Real Estate Instructor designation, with credentials in the specific subject;
6. At least three years real estate or specific subject experience; or
7. Other education or experience determined by the Commissioner to qualify the applicant as an instructor.

D. The school shall maintain a record for five years of each student attending the school. The record shall include:
1. The name of each student;
2. The dates of attendance;
3. The title of each course taken;
4. The course number, category, and credit hours awarded;
5. The final grade or score in each prelicensure course; and
6. The original signature roster for each course or course segment taught. If live online, this requirement may be met by obtaining

and retaining a screenshot or multiple showing all students in attendance with a date-stamp of the screenshot and the name of the
licensee as licensed in Arizona. If distance learning, login and logout information of students with IP addresses.

E. The prospective student for prelicensing shall sign an agreement or application to enroll., The agreement or application presented to
the student by the school representative must include , that includes the following, in bold type and capital letters:
1. The course or course segment title within a curriculum,
2. The total credit hours applicable for licensure or renewal,
3. The cost of each course,
4. A statement of the refund policy, and
5. A statement related to license pre-determination petitions, and;
5.6. A statement of any job placement service.

F. The Department does not consider lists of employers given to graduates to be a placement service. The school may advertise job
placement services only if:
1. Student referrals result from direct contact between the school placement service and prospective employers,
2. Documented evidence of student referrals is maintained and includes:

a. The number of referrals to prospective employers per student,
b. Results of referrals,
c. Final placement or other disposition.
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G. Complaints. The Commissioner may, and upon a verified complaint in writing shall, investigate and observe the classes of any school,
owner, administrator, director, or instructor acting on behalf of the school and may examine the books and records of the school in
connection with the offering of approved courses.

H. Change in school, course, or instructor. Each school owner, operator, director, and instructor shall:
1. Provide a written notice and supporting documentation within 10 days of any:

a. Change of personal name or address,
b. Change of business address,
c. Change of business mailing address,
d. School closing, or
e. Disclosure of certification information pursuant to R4-28-301(A),

2. Provide a written notice and supporting documentation within 30 days after any change in structure of a licensed entity, including
any change of a:
a. Director, officer, or person holding or controlling 10% or more of the shares, if a corporation;
b. Partner, if a partnership;
c. Member or manager, if a limited liability company.

3. Obtain approval from the Commissioner before conducting business when:
a. Changing a business name,
b. Establishing a school location,
c. Changing the course content,
d. Changing the course length, or
e. Offering a new course.

4. Provide written notice as soon as practical of a last minute change of instructor due to illness or emergency.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-404 renumbered from R4-28-403 and amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp.

99-1).

R4-28-405. Expired

Historical Note
New Section made by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1). Section expired under A.R.S. §

41-1056(J) at 21 A.A.R. 757, effective February 28, 2015 (Supp. 15-2).

ARTICLE 5. ADVERTISING
R4-28-501. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-13 renumbered without change as Section R-28-501 (Supp. 87-1).

Former Section R4-28-501 repealed by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 502. Advertising by a Licensee
A. A licensee salesperson or broker acting as an agent shall not advertise property in a manner that implies that no salesperson or broker

is taking part in the offer for sale, lease, or exchange.
B. Any licensee salesperson or broker advertising their own or another licensee’s the salesperson’s or broker’s own property for sale,

lease, or exchange in Arizona shall disclose they are licensed the salesperson’s or broker’s status as a salesperson or broker, and as the
property owner by placing the words “owner/agent” in the advertisement.

C. A licensee salesperson or broker shall ensure that all advertising contains accurate claims and representations, and fully states factual
material relating to the information advertised. A salesperson or broker shall not misrepresent the facts or create misleading or
ambiguous impressions.

D. A school shall include its name, school number, phone and email contact information, and the name of the school administrator its
name, address and telephone number in all advertising of Department-approved courses. The school owner, director, or administrator
shall supervise all advertising. The school owner shall ensure that the school’s advertising is accurate.

E. A licensee salesperson or broker shall ensure that all advertising identifies in a clear and prominent manner the employing broker’s
legal name or the dba name contained on the employing broker’s license certificate. Use of a name that is not licensed or registered
with the Department must be of a smaller font size, be proportionally smaller, and may not cause confusion as to what or who is
licensed.  Inclusion of LLC or other corporate entity type identification is not required

F. A licensee who advertises property that is the subject of another person’s real estate employment agreement or was sold as the result
of another person’s real estate employment agreement, shall display the name of the current or, if sold, the most recent listing broker
and if applicable, the name of the selling broker in a clear and prominent manner.

G. The designated broker is responsible for shall supervise all advertising, for real estate, cemetery, or membership camping brokerage
licensed activity are in compliance with statute and ruleservices.

H. A licensee shall not use the term “acre,” either alone or modified, unless referring to an area of land representing 43,560 square feet.
I. Before placing or erecting a sign or publishing to an electronic medium giving notice that specific property is being offered for sale,

lease, rent, or exchange, a licensee salesperson or broker shall secure the written consent of the property owner, and the sign or
publication shall be promptly removed upon request of the property owner.
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J. The provisions of subsections (E) and (G) do not apply to advertising that does not refer to specific property.
K.J. Trade Names.

1. Any broker with a definite place of business and using a trade name owned by another person on signs displayed at the place of
business shall place the broker’s name, as licensed by the Department on the signs;

2. The broker shall include the following legend, “Each (TRADE NAME or FRANCHISE) office is independently owned and
operated,” or a similar legend approved by the Commissioner, in a manner to attract the attention of the public.

L.K.The use of an electronic medium, such as the Internet, Artificial Intelligence, or web site technology, that targets residents of this
Statestate with the offering of a property interest or real estate brokerage services pertaining to property located in this state constitutes
the dissemination of advertising as defined in A.R.S. § 32-2101(2). All advertising using an electronic medium must comply with
Subsection E of this Section and if advertising online, all requirements of advertising set forth above must be satisfied on the
advertisement without the need to scroll or within one click of the advertisement.

Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-14 repealed, new Section R4-28-14 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended subsection (D)

effective August 1, 1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-14 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-502 (Supp. 87-1).
Section R4-28-502 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final

rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4 28 503. Promotional Activities
A. A licensee shall not describe a premium offered at no cost or reduced cost to promote sales or leasing as an “award,” or “prize,” or use

a similar term.
B. A licensee shall clearly disclose to a person in writing the terms, costs, conditions, restrictions, and expiration date of an offer of a

premium before the person participates in the offer.
C. Unless otherwise provided by law, a person shall not solicit, sell, or offer to sell an interest in a development by conducting a lottery

contest, drawing, or game of chance.
D. A subdivider, time-share developer, or membership camping operator may apply for approval to conduct a lottery, contest, drawing, or

game of chance, or award a premium under A.R.S. § 32-2197.17(J), by submitting to the Department the information under A.R.S. §§
32-2183.01(I), 32-2197.17(J) or 32-2198.10(D), the applicable fee, if any, and:
1. The name, address, telephone number, and fax number, if any, of the subdivider, time-share developer, or operator;
2. The legal name of the broker;
3. The public report number;
4. The time and location for collecting entries for the lottery, contest, or drawing;
5. The date, time, and site for selection of a winner; and
6. The conditions and restrictions to enter, if any.

Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-15 repealed, new Section R4-28-15 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective August 1,

1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-15 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-503 (Supp. 87-1). Section R4-28-503
amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 11

A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4 28 504. Development Advertising
A. If a developer obtains a conditional sales exemption, under R4-28-B1202, or registers a notice of intent with the Department to accept

lot reservations under A.R.S. § 32-2181.03, the developer shall disclose on all advertising that only reservations or conditional sales
contracts will be taken until the public report has been issued.

B. Only a developer or the developer’s authorized representative shall file advertising for a development under A.R.S. §§ 32-2183.01(A),
32-2194.05(A), 32-2195.05(A), 32-2197.17(A) or 32-2198.01(A)(6) with the Department.

C. A developer shall ensure that advertisement of property in a development includes the name of the development as registered with the
Department. The Commissioner may waive application of this subsection if the Commissioner determines that the public interest is
not affected.

D. A developer shall not advertise a monthly payment, total price, or interest rate that is not available to all prospective purchasers or is
restricted, unless the lack of availability or the restriction is conspicuously disclosed to all prospective purchasers within the
advertisement.

E. A developer shall not advertise proposed or incomplete improvements unless one of the following requirements are met:
1. If The estimated date of completion is specified or, if there is no estimated date of completion, the developer includes a

prominent disclosure in the advertisement that the improvement is proposed only and no warranty is given or implied that the
improvement will be completed, or; and

2. If an estimated completion a completion date is specified, the developer has submitted to the Department evidence to
satisfactorily demonstrate to the Department that the completion and operation of the facilities are assured and that completion
will be within the time represented in the advertisement or promotional material.

F. The developer shall not reference a proposed public facility or project that purports to impact effect the value or utility of an interest in
a development without disclosing in writing the existing status of the proposed facility. The developer shall base the disclosure upon
information supplied or verified by the authority responsible for the public facility or project and shall forward the information to the
Department.
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G. Pictorial or illustrative depictions, other than unmodified photographs of the property being offered, shall bear a prominent disclosure
identifying the nature of the depiction, such as artist’s conceptions, architectural designs, Artificially Intelligent created designs,
engineer renderings, 3-d modeling, or other type of rendering, an artist’s conception, and shall identify those improvements that are
proposed and not in existence.

H. When a pictorial representation is used in an advertisement for a specific development and is not an actual or accurate representation
of the property, a statement within the advertisement shall prominently include a legend and disclose the actual road miles distance of
the pictorial representation from the advertised property.

I. If a map or diagram is used to show the location of the development in relation to other facilities, actual road miles from each facility
to the development shall be shown on the map or diagram.

J. A developer shall not expressly state or imply that a facility is available for the exclusive use of purchasers of lots or interests if a
public right of access or public use of the facility exists.

K. A developer shall not refer to availability for use of private clubs or facilities in which the owner will not acquire a proprietary interest
through purchase of an interest in the development unless a disclosure is made in the advertisement. The disclosure shall affirmatively
state the existence of the facilities and that availability for use by owners of an interest in the development is at the pleasure of the
owners of the facility.

L. When a standing body of water is described as a feature of a development, all advertising shall indicate the average surface area of the
body of water. If a standing body of water or a flowing waterway described as a feature of a development is not permanent, or
fluctuates substantially in size or volume, the developer shall disclose this fact in all advertisements describing the feature.

M. At the time an incentive is offered to visit any place where a sales presentation for a development is to be made and before the
recipient of the incentive makes the trip, the developer shall disclose in writing all conditions, limitations, or recipient qualifications
that will be applied.

N. A developer shall not include in advertising testimonials or endorsements that contain statements that a salesperson or broker would
be precluded by law from making on the salesperson’s or broker’s behalf.

Historical Note
Editorial correction new language subsection (D)(2) (Supp. 75-1). Former Section R4-28-16 repealed, new Section R4-28-16 adopted

effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended by adding subsection (T) effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Amended
subsection (F) effective June 9, 1982 (Supp. 82-3). Amended effective August 1, 1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-16
renumbered without change as Section R4-28-504 (Supp. 87-1). Section R4-28-504 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R.
650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp.

05-1).

ARTICLE 6. REPEALED
R4-28-601. Repealed

Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-17 repealed, new Section R4-28-17 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-17

renumbered without change as Section R4-28-601 (Supp. 87-1). Repealed effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1).

ARTICLE 7. COMPENSATION
R4 28 701. Compensation Sharing Disclosure
A real estate broker shall disclose to all the parties in a transaction, in writing at least three days before closing, the name of each
employing broker who represents a party to the transaction and who will receive compensation from the transaction.

Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-18 repealed, new Section R4-28-18 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended by adding

subsection (B) effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section R4-28-18 renumbered without change as Section
R4-28-701 (Supp. 87-1). Section R4-28-701 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp.
99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2). Amended by final rulemaking at 8

A.A.R. 3640, effective August 6, 2002 (Supp. 02-3).

ARTICLE 8. DOCUMENTS

R4-28-801. Repealed

Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-19 repealed, new Section R4-28-19 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective August 28,

1986 (Supp. 86-4). Former Section R4-28-19 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-801 (Supp. 87-1). Amended
subsection (A) effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4). Correction to subsection (D), from “...management shall...” to

“...management agreement shall...” as certified effective August 28, 1986. Amended subsections (A), (C) and (D) effective June
6, 1989 (Supp. 89-2). Amended effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1). Former Section R4-28-801 repealed by final

rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 802. Conveyance Documents
A. Upon execution of any transaction document a salesperson or broker shall, expeditiouslyas soon as practical, deliver a legible copy of

the signed document and final agreement to each party signing the document.

Page 23 Supp. 19-2 June 30, 2019



4 A.A.C. 28 Arizona Administrative Code Title 4

CHAPTER 28. STATE REAL ESTATE DEPARTMENT

B. During the term of a listing agreement, a salesperson or broker shall promptly submit to the salesperson’s or broker’s client all offers
to purchase or lease the listed property. Upon receiving permission from the seller or lessor, the salesperson or broker acting on behalf
of the seller or lessor may disclose to all offerors or their agents the existence and terms of all additional offers on the listed property.
The salesperson or broker shall submit to the client all offers made prior to closing and is not released from this duty by the client’s
acceptance of an offer unless the client instructs the salesperson or broker in writing to cease submitting offers or unless otherwise
provided in the listing agreement, lease, or purchase contract. The salesperson or broker may voluntarily submit offers to the seller or
lessor regardless of any limitations contained in the listing agreement and may submit offers after the listing agreement is terminated.

C. Transaction statements. In addition to the requirements of A.R.S. §§ 32-2151.01 and 32-2174, the broker shall retain true copies of all
receipts and disbursements, or copies of the executed and delivered escrow closing statements that evidence all receipts and
disbursements in the transaction and any transaction documents signed by parties to the transaction or any disclosures made as part of
the transaction.

Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-20 repealed, new Section R4-28-20 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective March 13,

1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section R4-28-20 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-802 (Supp. 87-1). Amended effective
February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1). Section R4-28-802 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999

(Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 8 A.A.R. 3640, effective August 6, 2002 (Supp. 02-3).

R4 28 803. Contract Disclosures
A. A developer or the developer’s agent shall ensure that any agreement or contract for the sale or lease of a property interest in a

development that requires a public report contains substantially the following language in bold print or print larger than the other print
used in the document above the signature portion of the document:

THE DEVELOPER SHALL GIVE A PROSPECTIVE PURCHASER A COPY OF THE PUBLIC REPORT AND AN
OPPORTUNITY TO READ AND REVIEW IT BEFORE THE PROSPECTIVE PURCHASER SIGNS THIS DOCUMENT.

B. A developer or the developer’s agent shall ensure that any agreement or contract for the sale or lease of a property interest in a
development conspicuously discloses the nature of the document at or near the top of the document.

C. The contract shall indicate where the earnest money or down payment, if any, will be deposited and shall include the name of the title
company, the name of the broker’s trust account, or other depository.

D. Any agreement or contract for the sale or lease of a property interest in a development where a down payment, earnest money deposit,
or other advanced money, if any, is paid directly to the seller and not placed in a neutral escrow depository, shall conspicuously
disclose this fact within the document, and the purchaser shall sign or initial this provision indicating approval in the space adjacent to
or directly below the disclosure in the purchase contract or agreement of sale. The following disclosure shall be written in large or
bold print and shall be included in the public report, purchase contract, and agreement of sale.

Prospective purchasers are advised that earnest money deposits, down payments, and other advanced money will not be placed in
a neutral escrow. This money will be paid directly to the seller and may be used by the seller. This means the purchaser assumes a
risk of losing the money if the seller is unable or unwilling to perform under the terms of the purchase contract.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended Exhibit effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section R4-28-21

renumbered without change as Section R4-28-803 (Supp. 87-1). Section R4-28-803 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R.
650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp.

00-2). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4 28 804. Rescission of Contract
A. Any agreement or contract for the purchase or lease of an unimproved subdivided lot, or any unsubdivided land, shall contain

substantially the following language in bold print or print larger than the other print used in the document above the signature portion
of the document:

The purchaser or lessee has the legal right to rescind (cancel) this agreement without cause or reason of any kind, and to the
return of any money or other consideration by sending or delivering a written notice of rescission to the seller or lessor by
midnight of the seventh calendar day following the day the purchaser or lessee executed the agreement. If the purchaser or lessee
does not inspect the lot or parcel before the execution of the agreement, the purchaser or lessee shall have six months to inspect
the lot or parcel, and at the time of inspection shall have the right to unilaterally rescind the agreement.

B. Any agreement or contract for the purchase or lease of a time-share interval shall contain substantially the following language in bold
print or print larger than the other print used in the document above the signature portion of the document:

The purchaser or lessee has the legal right to rescind (cancel) this agreement without cause or reason of any kind by sending or
delivering a written notice of rescission to the seller or lessor by midnight of the tenth seventh calendar day following the day the
purchaser or lessee executed the agreement.

C. An opportunity to exercise rights the seven-day right of rescission shall be provided by conspicuously disclosing the complete and
current name, address, and telephone number, and email address of the seller on the face of all agreements and contracts. Delivery of
all notices of rescission must be delivered in writing and are deemed delivered and received when hand delivered, sent via email, sent
by courier service, or USPS certified mail and seller must issue a receipt if hand delivered.
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Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-22 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-804 (Supp.

87-1). Section R4-28-804 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by
final rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2).

R4-28-805. Public Report Receipt
When a public report is required, the developer shall provide an opportunity for prospective customers to review the public report and
complete the following public report receipt. The developer must and obtain the purchaser’s signature to verify that the prospective
purchaser has received a copy of the public report and been provided an opportunity to review the public report. The public report receipt
must be completed on the form as provided with the approved public report.:

PUBLIC REPORT RECEIPT
The developer shall furnish you, as a prospective customer, with a copy of the public report required by the Arizona Department of
Real Estate. It is recommended that you read the report before you make any written offer to purchase or lease an interest in the
development and before you pay any money or other consideration toward the purchase or lease of an interest in the development.
FOR YOUR PROTECTION, DO NOT SIGN THIS RECEIPT UNTIL YOU HAVE RECEIVED A COPY OF THE REPORT AND
HAVE HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO READ IT. BY SIGNING THIS RECEIPT, THE BUYER HAS ACCEPTED THE PUBLIC
REPORT AND ACKNOWLEDGES THE INFORMATION IT CONTAINS.

_____________________ ______________________
Public Report Registration No. Development Name and Lot No.

I understand the report is not a recommendation or endorsement of the development by the Arizona Department of Real Estate, but is
for information only.
_____________________ ______________________

Buyer’s Name Address
_____________________ ______________________

Date

Historical Note
New Section R4-28-805 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

ARTICLE 9. REPEALED
R4-28-901. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended by adding subsection (E) effective August 28,1986 (Supp. 864). Former

Section R4-28-23 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-901 (Supp. 87-1). Repealed effective February 28, 1995 (Supp.
95-1).

R4-28-902. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 90-3). Amended effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section R4-28-24 renumbered

without change as Section R4-28-902 (Supp. 87-1). Repealed effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1).

ARTICLE 10. REPEALED
R4 28 1001. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 31, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended subsection (A) effective August 1, 1986 (Supp. 864). Former Section

R4-28-26 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1001 (Supp. 87-1). Section R4-28-1001 amended by final rulemaking at
5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Section repealed by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5,

2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-1002. Expired

Historical Note
New Section R4-28-1002 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Section expired

under A.R.S. § 41-1056(E) at 10 A.A.R. 1893, effective February 29, 2004 (Supp. 04-2).

ARTICLE 11. PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT
R4 28 1101. Duties of Licenseesto Client
A. A licensee owes a fiduciary duty to the client and shall protect and promote the client’s interests. The licensee shall also deal fairly

with all other parties to a transaction.
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B. A licensee participating in a real estate transaction shall disclose in writing to all other parties any information the licensee possesses
that materially or adversely affects the consideration to be paid by any party to the transaction, including:
1. Any information that the seller or lessor is or may be unable to perform;
2. Any information that the buyer or lessee is, or may be, unable to perform;
3. Any known material fact, material defect, or latent defect existing in the property being transferred; and
4. The existence of a lien or encumbrance on the property being transferred.

C. A licensee shall expeditiously perform all acts required by the holding of a license. A licensee shall not delay performance, either
intentionally or through neglect. If a licensee is unable to perform any act as required by rule or statute, they must immediately notify
their designated broker in writing of their inability to perform.

D. A licensee shall not allow a controversy with another licensee to jeopardize, delay, or interfere with any acts required to be performed
by the licensee, including the initiation, processing, or finalizing of a transaction on behalf of a client. This prohibition does not
obligate a licensee to agree to alter the terms of any employment or compensation agreement or to relinquish the right to maintain an
action to resolve a controversy.

E. A licensee real estate salesperson or broker shall not act directly or indirectly in a transaction without informing the other parties in the
transaction, in writing and before the parties enter any binding agreement, of a present or prospective interest or conflict in the
transaction, including that the:
1. Licensee Salesperson or broker has a license and is acting as a principal;
2. Purchaser or seller is a member of licensee’s the salesperson’s, broker’s, or designated broker’s immediate family;
3. Purchaser or seller is the owner or employee of the licensee’s salesperson’s or broker’s employing broker, or owns or is employed

by the salesperson’s or broker’s employing broker; or
4. LicenseeSalesperson or broker, or a member of the licensee’s salesperson’s or broker’s immediate family, has a financial interest

in the transaction other than the licensee’s salesperson’s or broker’s receipt of compensation for the real estate services.
F. A licensee salesperson or broker shall not accept compensation from or represent more than one party to a transaction without the

prior written consent of all parties.
G. A licensee salesperson or broker shall not accept any compensation, including rebate or other consideration, directly or indirectly, for

any goods or services provided to a person if the goods or services are related to or result from a real estate transaction, without that
person’s prior written acknowledgement of the compensation. This prohibition does not apply to compensation paid to a broker by a
broker who represents a party in the transaction.

H. The services that a licensee salesperson or broker provides to a client or a customer shall conform to the standards of practice and
competence recognized in the professional community for the specific real estate discipline in which the licensee salesperson or broker
engages. A licensee salesperson or broker shall not undertake to provide professional services concerning a type of property or service
that is outside the licensee’s salesperson’s or broker’s field of competence without engaging the assistance of a person who is
competent to provide those services, unless the licensee’s salesperson’s or broker’s lack of expertise is first disclosed to the client in
writing and the client subsequently employs the licenseesalesperson or broker.

I. A licenseesalesperson or broker shall exercise reasonable care in ensuring that they obtain the salesperson or broker obtains
information material to a client’s interests and relevant to the contemplated transaction and accurately communicate communicates the
information to the client. A licensee without expertise in subject areas material to a client’s interest and relevant to a contemplated
transaction must disclose the lack of expertisesalesperson or broker is not required to have expertise in subject areas other than those
required to obtain the salesperson’s or broker’s license. A licensee salesperson or broker shall take reasonable steps to assist a client in
confirming the accuracy of information relevant to the transaction and may direct a client to appropriate professionals to assist in
confirming the accuracy of the information.

J. A licensee salesperson or broker shall not:
1. Permit or facilitate access to or occupancy in a person’s real property by a third party without prior written authorization from the

owner of the real propertyperson; or
2. Deliver possession prior to closing unless expressly instructed to do so by the owner of the property or property interest being

transferred.
3. Permit or facilitate access to a person’s real property through another licensee or third party licensee without prior written

authorization from all parties and with disclosure to all parties of any limitation of representation of the licensee.
K. A licensee salesperson or broker shall recommend to a client that the client seek appropriate counsel from insurance, legal, tax, and

accounting professionals regarding the risks of pre-possession or post-possession of a property.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-27 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1101 (Supp.

87-1). Section R4-28-1101 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by
final rulemaking at 8 A.A.R. 3640, effective August 6, 2002 (Supp. 02-3). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506,

effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4 28 1102. Property Negotiations
A. For a listing and except for owner-listed properties or when a principal waives this requirement in writing, negotiations shall be

conducted exclusively through the principal’s broker or the broker’s representative unless the designated broker, a broker with
delegated authority from the designated broker, and the listing licensee with an employment contract are unavailable for 24 hours.
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B. For a buyer and unless the buyer waives this requirement in writing, negotiations must be conducted exclusively through the
principal’s broker or the broker’s representative unless the designated broker, a broker with delegated authority from the designated
broker, and the buyer’s licensee with an agency relationship are unavailable for 24 hours.
Except for owner listed properties, negotiations shall be conducted exclusively through the principal’s broker or the broker’s
representative unless:
1. The principal waives this requirement in writing, and
2. No licensed representative of the broker is available for 24 hours.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-28 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1102 (Supp.

87-1). Section R4-28-1102 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-1103. Broker Supervision and Control
A. An employing broker and a designated broker shall exercise reasonable supervision and control over the activities of brokers,

salespersons, and others in the employ of the broker. Reasonable supervision and control includes the establishment and enforcement
of written policies, procedures, and systems to:
1. Review and manage:

a. Transactions of all licenseesrequiring a salesperson’s or broker’s license; and
b. Use of disclosure forms and contracts and, if a real estate broker, real estate employment agreements under A.R.S. §

32-2151.02;
2. Manage:

a.c. Filing, storing, and maintaining documents pertaining to transactions under subsection (A)(5)(a);
b.d. Handling of trust funds; and
c.e. Use of unlicensed assistants by a licensee, and;salesperson or broker;
f. Advertising.

3.2. Oversee delegation of authority to others to act on behalf of the broker;
4.3. Familiarize salespersons and associate brokers with the requirements of federal, state, and local laws relating to the practice of

real estate, or the sale of cemetery property or membership camping contracts; and
5.4. Review and inspect:

a. Documents that may have a material effect upon the rights or obligations of a party to a transaction; and
b. Advertising and marketing by the broker and by licenseessalespersons, brokers, and others in the broker’s employ.

B. A designated broker shall establish a system for monitoring compliance with statutes, rules, and the employing broker’s policies,
procedures, and systems. The established system is not limited to but must include a progressive disciplinary policy for managing
violations of the employing broker’s policies which would also represent a violation of any statutory requirement or prohibition
related to real estate activity and failure of an employing broker to enforce the disciplinary policy would be a violation of subsection
D.

C. A designated broker shall supervise licensees associate brokers, salespersons, and employees of the employing broker and shall
exercise reasonable supervision and control over activities by the employing broker for which a license is required.

D. An employing broker is responsible for the acts of all licensees associate brokers, salespersons, and other employees acting within the
scope of their employment.

E. A designated broker may use the services of employees to assist in administering the provisions of this Section but may shall not
relinquish overall responsibility for supervision and control of the acts of the employing broker’s employees.

F. A designated broker who, upon learning of a violation of real estate statutes or rules by a licensee salesperson or associate broker
under the broker’s supervision, immediately reports the violation to the Department is not subject to disciplinary action by the
Department for failure to supervise the licenseesalesperson or broker.

G. If an employing broker maintains one office and employs a designated broker, no more than one other licensed person, and no more
than one unlicensed person, the employing broker and designated broker are not required to develop and maintain written policies,
procedures, and systems as described in subsection (A).

Historical Note
New Section made by final rulemaking at 8 A.A.R. 3640, effective August 6, 2002 (Supp. 02-3). Amended by final rulemaking at 11

A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 1496, effective June 4, 2005
(Supp. 05-2).

ARTICLE 12. DEVELOPMENTS
R4 28 1201. Renumbered

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended subsection (B) effective June 9, 1982 (Supp. 82-3). Former Section R4-28-29

renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1201 (Supp. 87-1). Former Section R4-28-1201 renumbered to R4-28-B1205 by
final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).
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R4-28-1202. Repealed

Historical Note
Former Section R4-28-30 repealed effective May 1, 1980, new Section R4-28-30 adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3).

Amended effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section R4-28-30 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1202
(Supp. 87-1). Repealed effective February 28, 1995 (Supp. 95-1).

R4 28 1203. Renumbered

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-31 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1203 (Supp.

87-1). Former Section R4-28-1203 renumbered to R4-28-B1203 by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999
(Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1204. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-32 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1204 (Supp.

87-1). Section R4-28-1204 repealed by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

PART A. APPLICATION FOR PUBLIC REPORT, CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY, OR SPECIAL ORDER OF EXEMPTION
R4-28-A1201. Development Name; Lot Sales; Applicant
A. Any person may submit a development application for a public report, a certificate of authority, or a special order of exemption,

provided the applicant has a recorded ownership interest in the land, such as a deed, option, beneficial interest in a trust, or other
recorded interest approved by the Commissioner. The application for a public report or certificate of authority shall contain the
following information, as applicable:
1. The name of the development or cemetery, as shown on the recorded map, and the marketing name if one will be used;
2. The list of the lots to be offered, including the description of the sales offering;
3. The name, address, telephone number, and email addressfax number, if any, of the applicant; and
4. The applicable information in this Article, Parts A and B.

B. If the applicant is a corporation, the application shall contain the following information:
1. A current Certificate of Good Standing from the Arizona Corporation Commission, dated no earlier than one year from the date

of the application;
2. A corporate resolution or other formation document, identifying the person or persons authorized to discuss, negotiate, and sign

authorizing the person signing the application on behalf of the corporation; and
3. The name, and address, and email address of each officer, director, and shareholder controlling or holding more than 10% of the

issued and outstanding common shares, or 10% of any other proprietary, beneficial, or membership interest in the entity.
C. If the applicant is a partnership, the application shall contain the following information:

1. A copy of all partnership agreements;
2. Proof of registration with the Secretary of State if any partnership is a limited partnership, foreign or domestic;
3. If the general partner is a corporation, the information requested in subsection (B);
4. If the general partner is a limited liability company, the information requested in subsection (D); and
5. The name, and address, and email address of each partner in the partnership.

D. If the applicant is a limited liability company, the application shall contain the following information:
1. A copy of the current Articles of Organization, stamped “Received and Filed” by the Arizona Corporation Commission. If more

than one year has elapsed between the original filing with the Arizona Corporation Commission and the filing date of the
development application, a Certificate of Good Standing from the Arizona Corporation Commission is required;

2. A copy of the current operating agreement and any amendments;
3. If not included in the operating agreement or Articles of Organization, a copy of the company resolution signed by all members

stating whether management of the limited liability company is established as manager-controlled or member-controlled and the
name of the member or manager appointed to act on behalf of the company and sign the application;

4. The name, and address, and email address of each member, manager, and managerial employee, and the name and address of any
person controlling or holding more than 10% of the membership interest in the limited liability company;

5. If a member is a corporation, the information requested in subsection (B);
6. If a member is a partnership, the information requested in subsection (C).

E. If the applicant is a trust, the application shall contain the name, and address, and email address of each trustee, beneficiary, and
anyone in control of the trust.

F. If the applicant is a subsidiary corporation, the application shall contain the name, and address, and appropriate contact information for
an individual within of the parent corporation.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1201 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1202. Development Map; Location; Land Characteristics
A. The applicant shall submit a legible copy, no larger than 11” x 17”, of the recorded development map showing, as applicable:

1. The county recorder’s recording information, including the book and page of maps and recording date;
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2. County or city approval;
3. Applicable dedications;
4. Monuments, distances, and bearings; and
5. Registered land surveyor certification.

B. The applicant shall identify the location of the development, including the street, city, county, and state, and:
1. The miles and direction from the nearest city or town, if applicable; and
2. The most direct route for getting to the development from a federal, state, county, or city road.

C. The application shall include a description of the physical characteristics of the land and any unusual factors that may affect it,
and:such as if it has level or hilly terrain, rocky, loose, or alkaline soil, and
1. The gross acreage of the development;
2. The total number of lots within the development, including a description of phasing, if applicable; and
3. Whether and how lots are permanently or temporarily staked or marked for easy location.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1202 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1203. Flood and Drainage; Land Uses; Adverse Conditions
The applicant shall state, or include as applicable, the disclosure of any known material facts which may include:

1. Whether the development is subject to any known flooding or drainage problems and a letter bearing the signature and seal of a
professional civil, municipalcity, or and county engineer, or county flood district detailing the drainage conditions and flood
hazards. The letter shall include the effect of any flood plain and its location, the effect of a 100 year frequency storm, and
whether flood insurance is required.

2. Whether the development lots are subject to subsidence or expansive soils. If subsidence or expansive soils exist, a professional
engineer’s letter addressing the effects of the condition, remedies, and a buyer’s on-going responsibilities in plain language;

3. A description of the existing and proposed land uses in the vicinity of the development that may cause a nuisance or adversely
affect lot owners, such as freeways, airports, sewer plants, railroads, and canals, including a :
a. Any unusual safety factors within or near the development, and
b. A description of all current and proposed adjacent land uses.

4. Whether the development is affected by any unusual or unpleasant odors, noises, pollutants, or other nuisances;
5.4. A description of any agricultural activity or condition in the area that may adversely affect a lot owner, including any odors,

cultivation and related dust, agricultural burning, application of pesticides, or irrigation and drainage;
6.5. Whether the development lots are subject to any known geological or environmental condition that would or may be detrimental

to a purchaser’s health, safety, or welfare; or
7.6. Whether the development lots are located within the boundary of a federal, designated Superfund site or a state designated Water

Quality Assurance Revolving Fund site.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1203 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1204. Utilities
The applicant shall include information about electrical, telephone, internet, and natural gas, and any other utilities available, as applicable,
to the development, including:

1. The names, addresses, website URL, email address, and telephone numbers of the utility providerelectrical, telephone, and
natural gas company that will provide service;

2. The location of existing electrical, telephone, and natural gas utilities in relation to the development;
3. The person or entity name of each person responsible for extending each utility to the lot lines;
4. The estimated completion date for extending each utility to the lot lines;
5. If the developer will only install conduit, a description of the conduit, the location of the conduit, and any arrangement made to

complete operational utilities to lot lines;
6. The estimated cost a lot purchaser will be required to pay and the estimated completion date if the developer is offering

completion of a utility to the purchaser’s lot linefor completion of each utility to the purchaser’s lot line, and, if the offer is for
unimproved lots, the estimated costs to provide service from the lot line to the dwelling;

7. Upon completion of the utilities, other estimated costs or requirements that must be addressed before an average or median
sizedthe lot purchaser receives service, including the current service charges, hookup fees, turn-on fees, meter fees, and fees for
pulling wire through conduit with disclosure of the dates that estimates were obtained and the size of the lot used for the
estimation;

8. If propane gas will be used, a dated letter from the supplier stating that it will be providing service to the development, with a
description of requirements to be met and costs to be paid by the lot purchaser for receiving the service; and

9. If street lights will be available, the person or entity responsible for completion, the estimated completion date and the person
who will pay for the electricity.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1204 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1205. Water Supply
An applicant shall include, as applicable, the information about any water supply to the development, including:
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1. The type of water provider such as a municipal system, improvement district, public utility, private water company, co-operative,
irrigation district, private well, water hauler, hydropanels, water technologies, or other source;

2. The name, address, and telephone number and as applicable, the URL website address and email address, of the water provider;
3. The compliance status of the water provider with federal and state environmental laws, as of the date of the application. If in

noncompliance, provide an explanation;
4. The location of the water lines closest to the development;
5. If the developer is offering completion to the purchaser’s lot line:

a. The name of the person or entity responsible for extending the water lines to the lot lines;
b. The estimated completion date for extending the water lines to the lot lines;
c. The estimated cost a lot purchaser will be required to pay above and beyond the purchase price for completion of the water

lines to the purchasers lot line and dates estimates were obtained;
d. The estimated cost a lot purchaser will pay above and beyond the purchase price for completion of water lines from the lot

line to a dwelling and dates estimates were obtained, and;
e. Other costs or requirements before the lot purchaser receives water service, including the current service charges,
hookup fees, turn-on fees, meter fees, and development fees and dates the estimates were obtained.

5. The name of the person responsible for extending the water lines to the lot lines;
6. The estimated completion date for extending the water lines to the lot lines;
7. The estimated cost a lot purchaser will be required to pay for completion of the water lines to the purchaser’s lot line;
8. The estimated cost a lot purchaser will pay for completion of water lines from the lot line to a dwelling;
9. Other costs or requirements before the lot purchaser receives water service, including the current service charges, hookup fees,

turn-on fees, meter fees, and development fees;
10.6. The name of the person or entity responsible for maintenance of the water lines within the development, other than

from lot line to dwelling;
11.7.The name of the person or entity who is or will be responsible for maintenance of the water lines outside the development;
12.8. If outside of an Active Management Area and no current water source exists on the property, an addendum issued by

the Department of Real Estate advising a consumer to investigate water availability before purchasing real propertya private well
will be used, a description of the requirements and costs involved to install an operational domestic water system;

13.9. If the source of water is a private well and domestic water cannot be obtained from a private well, whether the
purchaser will be offered a refund of the purchase price and if so, an explanation of any condition or restriction involving the
refund;

14.10. The name and location of the water provider if domestic water will be transported or hauled by the lot purchaser. A cost
estimate computed on a monthly basis for a four-member family, including the cost of water, cistern, and other holding tanks,
pumps, or any other costs necessary to install an operational water system;

15.11. A water adequacy report from the Arizona Department of Water Resources ADWR if the development is a subdivision
or part of a subdivision located outside of a groundwater active management area;

16.12. A water availability report from the Arizona Department of Water Resources ADWR if the development is
unsubdivided land. A copy of the report or a brief summary of the report, approved by the Department, shall be displayed in all
promotional material and contracts for sale; and

17.13. If a water provider is a public service corporation, whether a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity from the
Arizona Corporation Commission has been issued and, if not, an explanation of why a Certificate has not been issued.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1205 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final

rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2).

R4-28-A1206. Sewage Disposal
The applicant shall include, as applicable, the information about sewage disposal for the development, including:

1. Whether the sewage disposal will be provided by a municipality, improvement district, public utility, private company, or
individual sewage disposal system;

2. The name, address, and telephone number and as applicable, the URL website address, email address, of the sewage disposal
company;

3. The compliance status of the sewage disposal provider with the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality ADEQ as of the
date of the application. If in noncompliance, provide an explanation;

4. If the developer is offering completion to the purchaser’s lot line:
a. The name of the person or entity responsible for extending the sewage disposal utility to the lot lines;
b. The estimated completion date for extending the utility;
c. The estimated cost the lot purchaser will pay for completion of the utility to the purchaser’s lot line;
d. If offering an unimproved lot, the estimated cost a lot purchaser will pay for completion of the utility from the lot line to the

dwelling, and;
e. Upon completion of the utility, other estimated costs or requirements that must be address before the lot purchaser receives

service, including the service charge, hookup fees, tap-in fees, and development fees and dates the estimates were obtained.
4. The name of the person responsible for extending the sewage disposal utility to the lot lines;
5. The estimated completion date for extending the utility to the lot lines;
6. The estimated cost the lot purchaser will be required to pay for completion of the utility to the purchaser’s lot line;
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7. If offering an unimproved lot, the estimated cost a lot purchaser will pay for completion of the utility from the lot line to the
dwelling;

8. Upon completion of the utility, other costs or requirements that must be addressed before the lot purchaser receives service,
including the service charge, hookup fees, tap-in fees, and development fees;

9.5. The name of the person or entity responsible for maintenance of the sewage disposal utility within the development, other than
from lot line to dwelling;

10. The name of the person who is or will be responsible for maintenance of the sewage disposal utility outside the development;
11.6.What cost, if any, will the lot purchaser pay toward maintenance of the sewage disposal utility;
12.7. If a sewage disposal provider is a for-profit public service corporation, whether a Certificate of Convenience and

Necessity from the Arizona Corporation Commission has been issued, and if not, an explanation of why a Certificate has not
been issued;

13.8. A description of the type of individual sewage disposal system the lot purchaser will be required to install in
accordance with the standards and requirements of the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality ADEQ or its designee;

14.9. A description of all requirements and costs involved to install an operational individual sewage disposal system,
including any cost for governmental licensing and permitting, equipment, and other installation, maintenance, and operation costs
and dates the estimated costs were obtained;

15.10. If an operational individual sewage disposal system cannot be installed, will the lot purchaser be offered a refund of the
purchase price, and if so, an explanation of any condition or restriction involving the refund; and

16.11. If a dry sewer system will be installed for future connection to a future provider, the name of the future provider, all
requirements and costs for lot purchasers, and the estimated connection date.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1206 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1207. Streets and Access
A. The applicant shall demonstrate that there is permanent access to the land over terrain that may be traversed by conventional 2-wheel

drive automobiles and emergency vehicles by providing any of the following information or documents necessary to make the
demonstration:
1. A statement from a title insurance company, signed by an authorized title officer, affirming that legal access exists to the

development and lots within the development. The statement shall:
a. Describe the legal access by listing all recorded instruments which establish legal access,
b. Be accompanied by a map on which legal access is shown with accurate references to the recorded instruments,
c. Be accompanied by a legible copy of each recorded instrument listed in the statement.

2. A statement bearing the seal and signature of a registered land surveyor or professional engineer, affirming that legal access to
and within the development, as described in the title insurance company legal access statement, is over terrain that can be
traversed by conventional 2-wheel drive automobiles and emergency vehicles. The statement shall affirm that:
a. The legal access corresponds with the actual physical access to the development and to the lots,
b. The legal access is permanent and describe how that permanence is assured.

3. The recorded subdivision map which shows approval by the applicable city or county officials.
4. Recorded easements or road dedications whether public or private. If private, the applicant shall ensure that development lot

owners, emergency vehicles, and utility service providers have access rights.
5. Land, on which easements and roads are provided, is traversable by conventional 2-wheel drive automobiles and emergency

vehicles.
6. Road maintenance programs that assure permanent access. Road maintenance programs include those administered by city or

county governments, city or county improvement districts, or private property owner associations.
7. Recorded documentation that establishes legal and permanent access for development lot owners through federal or state lands.The

applicant shall include a statement attesting that:
1. Exterior streets providing access are private; or federal, state, and county highways; or municipal streets;
2. The interior streets are public or private; and

a. If any streets are private, a description of what provisions have been made to assure purchasers of a legal right to use the
private streets;

b. Whether the streets are completed;
c. The standards to which the streets will be or are constructed;
d. If the streets are not completed, the person responsible for completion and the estimated completion date;
e. The type of existing and proposed surfacing;
f. The cost, if any, the lot purchaser will pay toward street completion;
g. The name of the person responsible for exterior and interior street maintenance;
h. Whether a city or county is responsible for maintaining the streets and the approximate date when streets will be accepted

for maintenance; and
i. The cost, if any, the lot purchaser will pay toward street maintenance.

B. The applicant shall include a statement attesting that the interior streets are public or private; and
a. If any streets are private, a description of what provisions have been made to assure purchasers of a legal right to use the

private streets;
b. Whether the streets are completed;
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c. The standards to which the streets will be or are constructed;
d. If the streets are not completed, the person responsible for completion and the estimated completion date;
e. The type of existing and proposed surfacing;
f. The cost, if any, the lot purchaser will pay toward street completion;
g. The name of the person responsible for exterior and interior street maintenance;
h. Whether a city or county is responsible for maintaining the streets and the approximate date when streets will be accepted

for maintenance; and
i. The cost, if any, the lot purchaser will pay toward street maintenance, to include participation in and cost of special taxing

districts and community facility districts as authorized and appropriate by Arizona Revised Statute, Title 48.
The applicant shall demonstrate that there is permanent access to the land over terrain that may be traversed by conventional 2-wheel drive

automobiles and emergency vehicles by providing any of the following information or documents necessary to make the
demonstration:
1. A statement from a title insurance company, signed by an authorized title officer, affirming that legal access exists to the

development and lots within the development. The statement shall:
a. Describe the legal access by listing all recorded instruments which establish legal access,
b. Be accompanied by a map on which legal access is shown with accurate references to the recorded instruments,
c. Be accompanied by a legible copy of each recorded instrument listed in the statement.

2. A statement bearing the seal and signature of a registered land surveyor or professional engineer, affirming that legal access to
and within the development, as described in the title insurance company legal access statement, is over terrain that can be
traversed by conventional 2-wheel drive automobiles and emergency vehicles. The statement shall affirm that:
a. The legal access corresponds with the actual physical access to the development and to the lots,
b. The legal access is permanent and describe how that permanence is assured.

3. The recorded subdivision map which shows approval by the applicable city or county officials.
4. Recorded easements or road dedications whether public or private. If private, the applicant shall ensure that development lot

owners, emergency vehicles, and utility service providers have access rights.
5. Land, on which easements and roads are provided, is traversable by conventional 2-wheel drive automobiles and emergency

vehicles.
6. Road maintenance programs that assure permanent access. Road maintenance programs include those administered by city or

county governments, city or county improvement districts, or private property owner associations.
7. Recorded documentation that establishes legal and permanent access for development lot owners through federal or state lands.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1207 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1208. Flood Protection and Drainage Improvements
The applicant shall include with the application the following information about flood protection and drainage improvement:

1. A description of any current or proposed improvement;
2. The name of the person or entity responsible for completion of the improvement;
3. If the developer is completing the improvement, the The estimated completion date of the improvement and the cost, if any, the

lot purchaser will pay for completion and maintenance of the improvement and dates the estimated costs were obtained, to
include participation in and cost of special taxing districts and community facility districts as authorized and appropriate by
Arizona Revised Statute, Title 48;

4. The cost, if any, the lot purchaser will pay for completion of the improvement;
5.4. The name of the person responsible for the continuing maintenance and expense of the improvement;
6.5. If a city or county is responsible for maintenance, the approximate date when the improvement will be accepted for maintenance;

and
7.6. The cost, if any, the lot purchaser will pay toward completion and maintenance of the improvement.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1208 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1209. Common, Community, or Recreational Improvements
The applicant shall provide with the application a list of all common, community, or recreational improvements, located within the
development, and include the following information:

1. The name of the person responsible for completion of each improvement;
2. The estimated completion date of each improvement;
3. The estimated cost a lot purchaser will be required to pay for the completion of each improvement;
4. The name of the person responsible for the continuing maintenance and expense of each improvement; and
5. The cost, if any, the lot purchaser will be responsible for paying toward the maintenance of each improvement, and;.
6. The cost, if any, the lot purchaser will pay toward common maintenance, to include cost of and participation in special taxing

districts and community facility districts as authorized and appropriate by Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 48.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1209 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).
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R4-28-A1210. Master Planned Community
The applicant shall include the following information about a master planned community:

1. A list of all improvements located outside the development, but included in the development offering, including all common,
community and recreational improvements;

2. The name of the person or entity responsible for completing each improvement;
3. The estimated completion date of each improvement;
4. The name of the person or entity responsible for the continuing maintenance and expense of each improvement and date the

estimate of costs were obtained; and
5. The cost, if any, the lot purchaser will pay toward the completion and maintenance of each improvement, to include cost of and

participation in special taxing districts and community facility districts as authorized and appropriate by Arizona Revised
Statutes, Title 48.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1210 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1211. Assurances for Completion and Maintenance of Improvements
A. The applicant shall identify:

1. Whether arrangements have been made to assure the completion, delivery, and continued maintenance of the improvements listed
in subsections R4-28-A1204 through R4-28-A1210; and

2. Whether the assurances to complete and deliver the improvements have been approved by the county or city, where applicable,
and if so, submit a copy of the county or city approval;

B. An applicant shall provide one or more of the following assurances for completion:
1. A surety or completion bond from an insurance company licensed in Arizona with a rating of good or higher from a rating agency

and a copy of the rating. The bond shall specify which improvements are included and shall:
a. Be stipulated by and payable to a third party who is not the developer;
b. Be accepted and signed by all parties;
c. Not include an expiration date prior to the estimated completion date of Include an expiration date not less than 90 days

beyond the last improvement estimated completion date;
d. State when and how the third party may draw on the funds;
e. Be in an amount 10% greater than the estimated amount to complete all improvements; and
f. Include a registered engineer’s, architect’s, or contractor’s cost estimate to complete the improvements.

2. An irrevocable letter of credit from a financial institution licensed to do business in Arizona. The irrevocable letter of credit shall
specify which improvements are included and shall:
a. Be stipulated by and payable to a third party who is not the developer;
b. Be accepted and signed by all parties;
c. Not include an expiration date prior to the estimated completion date of Include an expiration date not less than 90 days

beyond the last improvement estimated completion date;
d. State when and how the third party may draw on the funds;
e. Be in an amount 10% greater than the estimated amount to complete all improvements;
f. Include a registered engineer’s, architect’s, or contractor’s cost estimate to complete the improvements;
g. State that repayment is the responsibility of the developer and not of the third party; and
h. State that the irrevocable letter of credit is noncancelable.

3. A loan commitment and agreement from a lender licensed in Arizona. The loan commitment and agreement shall specify which
improvements are included and shall:
a. Be stipulated by and payable to a third party who is not the developer;
b. Be accepted and signed by all parties;
c. Not include an expiration date prior to the estimated completion date of the last improvement;Include an expiration date not

less than 90 days beyond the last improvement estimated completion date;
d. State when and how the third party may draw on the funds;
e. Be in an amount 10% greater than the estimated amount to complete all improvements;
f. Include a registered engineer’s, architect’s, or contractor’s cost estimate to complete the improvements; and
g. State that repayment is the responsibility of the developer and not of the third party even if the third party draws on the

funds.
4. A trust or escrow account with a financial institution or escrow company licensed in Arizona. The trust or escrow account shall

specify which improvements are included and shall:
a. Be stipulated by and payable to a third party who is not the developer;
b. Be accepted and signed by all parties;
c. Not include an expiration date prior to the estimated completion date of the last improvement;Include an expiration date not

less than 90 Days beyond the last improvement estimated completion date;
d. State when and how the third party may draw on the funds;
e. Be in an amount 10% greater than the estimated amount to complete all improvements;
f. Include a registered engineer’s, architect’s, or contractor’s cost estimate to complete the improvements; and
g. Directly pay for the improvements completed or release funds to the developer upon written verification from a registered

engineer that the improvements have been completed in accordance with the plan.

Page 33 Supp. 19-2 June 30, 2019



4 A.A.C. 28 Arizona Administrative Code Title 4

CHAPTER 28. STATE REAL ESTATE DEPARTMENT

5. City and county trust agreement. A municipal or county government may enter into an assurance agreement with a trustee to hold
a lot conveyance until improvements are completed:
a. The trustee is an escrow company licensed in Arizona, and
b. The agreement is recorded.

6. Written escrow agreement. A developer may enter into a written escrow agreement with a title insurance company or escrow
company to escrow all funds and prohibit close of escrow until all improvements are complete. The agreement shall contain the
following stipulations:
a. The funds are not released nor the purchaser’s deed or other relevant documents recorded until the developer’s architect or

engineer certifies to the Department and the escrow agent that the project is complete, ready for occupancy, and in
compliance with all city and county requirements;

b. If the completion date is not met:
i. The developer will give purchasers notice that completion dates were not met and an updated completion schedule,
ii. A purchaser may, within 30 days of receiving the notice specified in subsection (B)(6)(b)(i), cancel and receive a full

refund by sending written notice to the escrow agent,
iii. The public report is invalid and all sales are suspended; and
iv. The Department considers the public report valid if improvements are completed at a later date and the public report is

complete and accurate.
7. Subdivision assurances. The municipal or county government shall prohibit occupancy and an subdivider shall not close escrow

on lots sold in a subdivision until all proposed or promised subdivision improvements are complete.
a. The subdivider shall submit an agreement or copy of the ordinance from the city or county prohibiting occupancy until all

proposed or promised subdivision improvements are complete.
b. If improvements are completed in phases, the subdivider shall submit complete details of the phasing program, including

approval of the phasing by the city or county and the completion schedule for the phases to the Department.
c. The subdivider shall submit a written statement that no escrow will close on any lot until all subdivision improvements are

complete. If a lot is within a phase of the subdivision where all improvements are complete and can be used and maintained
separately from the improvements required for the entire subdivision the escrow may be closed.

d. The subdivider shall submit a copy of the subdivider’s purchase contract containing in large or bold print the condition that
escrow will not close until the city or county issues its occupancy clearance and all subdivision improvements are complete.

e. Any improvement offered or promised to a purchaser that is scheduled for completion in a later phase of completion shall
have its completion assured by an alternative method of assurance listed in this Section.

f. If the subdivider’s sales include unimproved (vacant) lots, the subdivider shall deposit all earnest money into a neutral
escrow depository until escrow closes.

8. Any other assurance satisfactory to the Department that is not listed in subsections (B)(1) through (B)(7).
C. If the construction of any improvement is completed in phases, the applicant shall provide a description of the phased schedule of

completion, including the lots in each phase and estimated completion dates.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1211 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final

rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2).

R4-28-A1212. Schools and Services
A. The applicant shall include the following information about schools:

1. The public school district;
1.2. The location of and distance to the nearest public and applicable public charter elementary, junior, and high schools and whether

school bus or other transportation is available;
2.3. The type and location of any other school located within a 0.51/2 mile radius of the exterior boundaries of the development.

B. The applicant shall include the following information about services:
1. Community shopping. The location and distance from the development of the nearest community shopping area where food,

drink, and medical supplies may be purchased as of the date of application of the public report;
2. Public transportation. The type, provider, location, and distance to the nearest access point to public transportation for the

development;
3. Medical facility. The type, provider, location, and distance to the nearest medical facility;
4. Fire protection. Whether fire protection is available to the development, the name of the provider, and the estimated cost to the lot

purchaser and the date the estimate was obtained, and whether the service is private, municipal, volunteer, or other type of fire
department;

5. Ambulance service. Whether ambulance service is available to the development and whether the development is in a 911 service
area. If 911 service is not available, the name, address, and telephone number of the ambulance service and the estimated cost to
the lot purchaser and the date the estimate was obtained, and whether the service is private, municipal, volunteer, or other type of
service.

6. Law Enforcement Police service. Whether law enforcement police service is available to the development, and the name of the
provider;

7. Refuse collection. Whether provisions have been made for refuse collection, the name of the service provider, and the cost to the
lot purchaser. If no provisions have been made, what if any services are available to a buyer will do to dispose of refuse.

Page 34 Supp. 19-2 June 30, 2019



4 A.A.C. 28 Arizona Administrative Code Title 4

CHAPTER 28. STATE REAL ESTATE DEPARTMENT

8. USPS Office. The location and distance from the development of the nearest physical location of a facility operating as the
primary office for the United States Postal Service.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1212 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1213. Property Owners’ Association
The applicant shall provide the following information about a property owner’s association:

1. The name of the association, if any;
2. The name of the master property owners’ association, if any;
3. The breakdown and estimated total amount of the association assessment that property owners will be required to pay, and how it

will be paid;
4. Whether the association is legally formed and operational;
5. The URL to the Covenants, Conditionals and Restrictions, and Bylaws of the Association, if available;
5.6. When and under what conditions control of the association will be released to lot purchasers;
6.7. When and under what conditions title to the common areas will be transferred to the association;
7.8. Whether the common areas are subject to any lien or encumbrance. If yes, explain how purchasers’ use and enjoyment of

common areas will be protected in the event of default;
8.9. Whether all lot owners will be required to be members of the association. If not, explain;
9.10. Whether nonmembers will be liable for payments to the association; and
10.11. A copy of the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws in effect.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1213 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1214. Development Use
The applicant shall provide the following information about development use:

1. Whether unimproved (vacant) lots or improved (with building) lots will be sold or leased;
2. The use for which development lots will be offered and an identification of the lots and their proposed use if more than one use is

contemplated;
3. Whether the development or any lot is subject to adult occupancy or age restrictions;

a. If yes, explain the restriction;
b. If yes, explain whether this restriction is in compliance with the Federal Fair Housing Act.

4. Whether all or any portion of the development is located in an open range or area in which livestock may roam at large under the
laws of this State and what provisions, if any, have been made for the fencing of the development to prevent livestock from
roaming within the development and on a purchaser’s lot. If land is located in an open range or area in which livestock may roam
at large, the purchase contract shall contain:
a. Any provisions for the fencing of the development to prevent livestock from roaming within the development; and
b. Any fencing requirements for the buyers to prevent livestock from roaming on their property.

5. Whether mineral rights are, or will be, reserved from the development lots and what the effect will be on lot owners if the
minerals are extracted from the development; and

6. A full written disclosure of any condition or provision not specified in subsections (1) through (5) that may limit the use or
occupancy of the property.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1214 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1215. Development Sales
The applicant shall provide a description of the sales offering and:

1. A description of how sales or leases will be made and the manner by which title, right, or other interest is to be conveyed to the
purchaser, including copies of sales and lease transaction documents;

2. Indicate whether cash sales are allowed and when the purchaser takes title;
3.2. Indicate where the purchaser’s deposit and earnest monies will be deposited and held;
4.3. If the deposit monies are available for use by the seller, when and under what conditions the monies will be refunded;
5.4. Indicate when the lot purchaser will be permitted to use and occupy the lot;
6.5. An explanation if the purchaser will not receive title free and clear of all liens;
7. The estimated average sales price for the lots;
8.6. Indicate whether any of the property will be leased, and if so:;

a. Provide a description of any provision for increase of rental payments during the term of the lease and any provisions in the
lease prohibiting assignment or subletting, or both;

b. Indicate whether the lease prohibits the lessee from mortgaging or otherwise encumbering the leasehold; and
c. Indicate whether the lessee is permitted to remove an improvement when the lease expires.

9.7. The name, license number, address, and telephone number, and email address of the Arizona broker who will be responsible for
sales. If none, explain why;

10.8. The name, email address, and telephone number of the custodian of the development records for the development and
the physical or electronic location where the records will be kept;
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11.9.Indicate whether the property has been or will be offered for sale before the date of the development application and explain if
either are true, and;. If yes, explain; and

12.10. Indicate whether the sales documents contain all contract disclosures required by rule and statute.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1215 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final

rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4-28-A1216. Title Reports and Encumbrances
The applicant shall provide the following information concerning title reports and encumbrances:

1. Copies of any unrecorded liens or encumbrances against the property;
2. A title report showing:

a. An effective date not more than 30 days before Department receipt. The Department may request that the applicant update
the title report so that it is not more than 30 days old when the public report is issued;

b. A legal description based upon a recorded map, condominium or timeshare declaration. Metes and bounds legal descriptions
shall be used only for membership camping application title reports;

c. The applicant’s interest in the property;
d. The name and telephone number of the preparer and entity employing the preparer person who prepared the title report;
e. A description of any restriction or conditions which must be met to secure titlerequirement page, if applicable; and
f. The following statement after the title exceptions: “There are no further matters of record affecting the land.”

3. Legible copies of all recorded and unrecorded documents reflected by the title report, or known to applicant, such as restrictions,
easements, liens, encumbrances, trust agreements, options, and maps.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1216 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1217. ADEQ Approval
The applicant shall obtain approval of sanitary facilities for the subdivision approval from the Arizona Department of Environmental
QualityADEQ or its designee.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1217 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1218. Property Registrations in Other Jurisdictions
The applicant shall provide a list of the jurisdictions where a property registration was filed with or accepted by another department of real
estate or similar regulatory agency.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1218 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1219. Condominium Developments
The applicant shall provide the following information about condominium developments:

1. A copy of the recorded condominium declaration, map, and amendments in effect, and
2. An opinion letter from an attorney licensed to practice in Arizona, stating that the condominium plat and declaration of

condominium are in compliance with the requirements of A.R.S. §§ 33-1215 and 33-1219.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1219 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1220. Foreign Developments
A. Unless exempt pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-2181.02, an applicant shall ensure that any development located outside the state that is

advertised, promoted, or sold within the state complies with all Arizona laws and rules as if the land was located in the state.
B. Any law or rule that is specific to Arizona may be waived by the Department, or the Department may request and accept the domicile

state or country’s equivalent form of documentation.
C. The applicant shall provide evidence that the domicile state or country has authorized the sale of lots and that the development is in

compliance and good standing. If the domicile state or country issues a public report or equivalent, the application shall include the
report.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1220 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1221. ExpiredCemetery Developments
The applicant shall provide the following information about cemetery developments:

1. A statement that there are no liens on the cemetery property,
2. An accounting of the endowment care fund for an existing perpetual care cemetery, and
3. A financial statement of the applicant.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1221 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).
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R4-28-A1222. Membership Camping Developments
The applicant shall provide a description of any lakes, streams, or other natural features marketed as being available for recreational use
and as applicable any additional terms or conditions for their use.the following information about a membership camping development:

1. If the interest of the operator is evidenced by a lease, license, franchise, or a reciprocal agreement, a copy of the document and
any amendments;

2. A description of any lakes or streams available for recreational use; and
3. A description of any exchange network and the responsibilities, obligations, and rights of the operator and purchaser, and copies

of all exchange network documents.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1222 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-A1223. Affidavit
The applicant shall sign an affidavit attesting that the information found in the application is true and correct.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-A1223 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

PART B. GENERAL INFORMATION
R4-28-B1201. ExpiredExpedited Registration For Improved Subdivision Lots and Unsubdivided Lands
A. A developer may use the expedited public report registration by preparing the public report and submitting the appropriate application

documents and fees established in A.R.S. §§ 32-2183(B) or 32-2195.03(B) to the Department. The Department shall assign a
registration number to each application and verify the following:
1. The correct application form has been used and is two-hole punched at the top in standard placement. The application is placed

on a two-prong AACO-type fastener in a file folder and delivered to the Department in an expanding file folder. Maps may be
left off the fastener, folded, and placed in the expanding file. The application shall include:
a. The Expedited Registration Request letter signed by the applicant; and
b. The completed Department checklist for administrative completeness which indicates inclusion of the documents required

by A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 20, Article 4 and 4 A.A.C. 28, Article 12, Part A.
2. The filing fees have been included with the application;
3. All application questions have been answered;
4. The application signature page has been properly executed;
5. All required documents have been submitted; and
6. A complete and accurate public report in the Department’s published format on a computer diskette, formatted in a word

processing program compatible with the Department’s current computer operating system and word processing software, has
been submitted and all exhibits used for disclosure have been included on the diskette. (The developer may obtain a diskette
containing the public report template from the Department upon request.)

B. The Department may allow the applicant to correct a deficiency within the administrative completeness time-frame provided in A.R.S.
§§ 32-2183(B) and 32-2195.03(B), in which case the overall 15 business day limitation is suspended until the applicant corrects the
deficiency.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1201 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-B1202. Conditional Sales Exemption
A. Any developer applying for a special order of exemption authorizing the offer for sale of a subdivision lot or unsubdivided land before

issuance of a public report shall provide the following information to the Department:
1. The completed and executed Petition for Conditional Sales Exemption;
2. The completed and executed subdivision or unsubdivided land application for a public report;
3. The purchase contract containing all required contract disclosures and the Conditional Sales Addendum;
4. A current title report showing the ownership interest of the developer and acceptable condition of title;
5. A copy of the recorded development map, or if not recorded, a copy of the unrecorded map;
6. A copy of the Condominium Declaration, if applicable;
7. A Certificate of Assured Water Supply, or a letter from the Arizona Department of Water Resources ADWR or other evidence

that the property is located in an area designated as having an assured water supply, if the property is located in a groundwater
active management area;

8. A water adequacy report from the Arizona Department of Water Resources ADWR or evidence that the property is located in an
area designated as having an adequate water supply, if the property is located outside of a groundwater active management area;
and

9. Any other information requested by the Department that is deemed necessary for consideration of the exemptionrevealed
necessary after preliminary review.

B. The conditional sales exemption shall expire upon issuance or denial of the public report, or upon issuance of an order to summarily
suspend sales, to cease and desist, or a voluntary suspension of sales by the developer or owner.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1202 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).
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R4-28-B1203. Material Change; Public Report Amendments
A. The developer shall notify the Department of all material changes in the information required by A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 20, Articles

4, 7, 9, and 10, or 4 A.A.C. 28, Article 12, Part A.
B. The developer must amend the public report if the material changes reported in Subsection A adversely impact a potential purchaser or

lessee.According to material changes reported in subsection (A), the Department may require the developer to amend the public
report.

C. Completion Date Extension.
1. A developer may apply to the Department for an amendment to a public report to extend the completion date of any improvement

by providing an affidavit from the developer attesting that each purchaser, owner, and the city or county officials responsible for
improvements were provided written notice of the completion status of the improvement, including a list of all people who were
provided notice.

2. The Department may deny the application to extend the completion date beyond the first extension if a purchaser, owner, or
municipal city or county official opposes issuance of an amended public report to extend a completion date.

3. If an extension is denied, the developer shall provide the Department with a written agreement to suspend sales until the
improvement is complete or the Department may issue a summary suspension order as provided in A.R.S. § 32-2157(B).

D. To amend a public report, a developer shall submit payment of the applicable amendment fee and the following information:
1. The name and registration number of the development;
2. The name and signature of the developer;
3. A list of the changes to the development and sales offering or in the information previously provided to the Department;
4. Status of sales as prescribed in subsections (C) and (E); and
5. A purchase contract addendum, to be signed and dated by both seller and purchaser, acknowledging that the sale is conditioned

upon issuance of the amended public report and purchaser’s receipt and acceptance of the amended public report.
E. Suspension of sales.

1. If necessary for the protection of purchasers, the Department may suspend approval to sell or lease pending amendment of the
report.

2. In lieu of issuing a suspension order under A.R.S. § 32-2157, the Department may accept a developer’s written agreement to
suspend sales until the amended public report has been issued by the Department.

F. If the Department determines that a suspension of sales is not necessary for the protection of purchasers and approves the proposed
disclosure of the change, sales may continue if the prospective purchaser is provided a copy of the current public report and disclosure
of all changes before signing a contract. Completion of sales is conditioned upon the developer obtaining and delivering to each
purchaser under contract the amended public report.

G. Upon obtaining the amended report, the developer shall provide a copy to prospective purchasers in place of the earlier public report
and obtain a receipt for the amended public report.

H. If an application to amend a public report is denied, the Department shall notify the developer in writing of the statutory basis for the
denial and of the developer’s right to a fair hearing.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1203 renumbered from R4-28-1203 and amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999

(Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2).

R4-28-B1204. Cemetery Notice; Amendments
A change to information required pursuant to the provisions of Title 32, Chapter 20, Article 6, R4-28-301(A), or any other Section, requires
amendment of the notice filed pursuant to A.R.S. 32-2194.01.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1204 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-B1205. ExpiredContiguous Parcels
Except for lots in a platted subdivision, if two or more contiguous parcels of land are acquired by a single owner, the Department shall
classify the lots as a single parcel for purposes of subdivision laws.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1205 renumbered from R4-28-1201 and amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999

(Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-B1206. Filing with the Consumer Financial Protection BureauHUD
If the subdivider requests that a subdivision public report be certified by the Department for filing with the Consumer Financial Protection
BureauHUD, the subdivider shall comply with the terms, conditions, and requirements of the Consumer Financial Protection BureauHUD
certification agreement.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1206 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-B1207. Subsequent Owner
A. Except as provided in A.R.S. § 32-2181.02, any developer who is a successor in interest to six or more lots within a subdivision on

which the Department previously issued a public report shall file an application for and obtain a new public report before offering or
selling any lot.
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B. Any developer who is a successor in interest to six or more parcels within an unsubdivided land development on which the
Department previously issued a public report shall file an application for and obtain a new public report before offering or selling any
parcel.

C. Any developer who is a successor in interest to 12 or more time-share intervals within a time-share project on which the Department
previously issued a public report shall file an application for and obtain a new public report, before offering or selling any interval.

D. The Department shall not issue a new public report to a subsequent owner of a development if the previous developer failed to
complete proposed improvements in accordance with estimated completion dates specified in the previously issued public report until
one of the following occurs:
1. The subsequent owner makes financial arrangements, as described in R4-28-A1211, in favor of the local governmental authority

and for the benefit of purchaser, securing the owner’s promise to complete the previously proposed improvements by a
designated date; or

2. The subsequent owner becomes obligated to place all sales funds in a neutral escrow depository until the Department is furnished
satisfactory evidence that all proposed improvements have been completed or accepted by the city or county; or

3. Permission is obtained by all previous purchasers in the development for completion of the proposed improvements by the new
designated date for completion; or

4. The subsequent owner establishes to the satisfaction of the Department that adequate financial arrangements have been made to
assure completion of the proposed improvements by the new designated date for completion.

E. The Commissioner may approve an application for a subsequent ownership exemption if:
1. Lots, parcels or fraction interests are owned by a licensed financial institution in this state as a result of foreclosure and are being

sold by the financial institution or on behalf of the financial institution by a licensee if limited to those that have been included
with a previous public report when the public report was approved within the last ten years and no material changes have
occurred within the public report.

2. Lots, parcels or fractional interests, condominiums, or a timeshare projects where compliance is not essential to the public
interest or for the protection of buyers include but are not limited to those that have been included with a previous public report
approved within the last ten years where the applicant for an exemption attests there are no material changes altering the facts of
the public report.

E. A developer who is a new owner of property that is the subject of a pending application for a public report shall not replace or be
substituted for the applicant of the pending application.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1207 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final

rulemaking at 6 A.A.R. 1886, effective May 2, 2000 (Supp. 00-2).

R4-28-B1208. Public Report Correction
If the public report contains an error, the Department shall correct the report at its own expense. Additional or changed information that was
known to the developer before issuance of the report is not an error. The Department shall not correct the public report after it has been in
effect for 10 days. After 10 days, the developer shall change the report through the development amendment process, established in
R4-28-B1203, with payment of the applicable amendment fee.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1208 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-B1209. Options; Blanket Encumbrances; Releases
A. The Department shall not issue or amend a public report for any lot held under option or subject to a blanket encumbrance if a

condition precedent to the optionee’s right to acquire the lot or to release from the blanket encumbrance shows that the lot shall not:
1. Be acquired or released in a particular sequence,
2. Be acquired or released only after one or more additional lots have been acquired or released, or
3. Not be released if the encumbrance is in default because of a cross-default provision contained in the encumbrance,

B. The developer may require payment of a premium to permit the acquisition or release of the lot.
C. When a blanket encumbrance clouds title to a development, the developer shall place a written statement from the holder of the

blanket encumbrance in the public report application, quoting the provisions that enable a buyer to acquire title to a lot, free of the
blanket encumbrance.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1209 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4-28-B1210. Earnest Money
The Department may require a developer to deposit earnest money and down payments in a neutral depository based on revocation of a
prior public report or specific knowledge of the developer’s failure to meet prior public report obligations. The developer shall deposit
earnest money and down payments in a neutral depository if:

1. The seller is in bankruptcy;
2. The sale is conditional pursuant to R4-28-B1202; or
3. The Department perceives a risk to the buyer.

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1210 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).
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R4-28-B1211. Recordkeeping
If real property in a development is sold or leased by a developer without the services of a listing or selling broker, the developer shall keep
all records as required by A.R.S. § 32-2151.01(A) and (C).

Historical Note
Section R4-28-B1211 adopted by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

ARTICLE 13. ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES
R4-28-1301. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section R4-28-33 renumbered

without change as Section R4-28-1301 (Supp. 87-1). Section R4-28-1301 repealed by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective
February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1302. Service of Pleadings Subsequent to Complaint and Notice
A. Service of pleadings subsequent to complaint and notice of hearing shall be made by personal service or by mail to the last known

address of record of the party, the party’s statutory agent of record, or the party’s counsel. If service is made by mail, response time
shall be increased by five days. Service by mail is complete upon mailing.

B. Any person filing a pleading or brief with the Department shall also file with the Attorney General.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-34 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1302 (Supp.

87-1). Section R4-28-1302 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1303. Information Obtained in an Investigation
A. The Department shall ensure that information and documents in open audits and investigations remain confidential. Officers and

employees of the Department shall not make confidential information or documents available to anyone other than the Attorney
General or the Attorney General’s representative, or authorized employees of the Department, unless the Commissioner authorizes
disclosure of the information or production of documents as being in the public interest.

B. Upon request, the Department shall disclose the existence of and make available for review audit and investigative files that were
closed within five years of the request for the information, subject to redaction of confidential or privileged information and subject to
availability based on the Department’s retention schedule such as date of birth, social security number, bank and trust account
numbers, home address and telephone number of active-status licensees, criminal history reports, attorney-client privileged
communications, work product, and information regarding settlement negotiations.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-35 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1303 (Supp.

87-1). Section R4-28-1303 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by
final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4 28 1304. Response; Default
A. In an audit or investigation, a A response shall specifically admit, deny, or state that the party does not have, or is unable to obtain,

sufficient information to admit or deny each allegation in the complaint. A statement of a lack of information shall have the effect of a
denial. Any allegation not responded to may be denied is deemed to be a violation of A.R.S. § 32-2153(B)(10)admitted. When a party
intends in good faith to deny only a part of an allegation, the party shall admit so much of it as is true and shall deny the remainder.

B. If the party fails to file a response or after being served notice, fails to appear at a hearing within the time provided by the statute under
which the hearing is commenced, the Department may file an Affidavit of Default against the party, and proceed to take action against
the party based upon the allegations of the charges. This action may be taken before the hearing date established in the Notice of
Hearing. The party may file a motion to vacate the default and any action taken by the Commissioner within 15 days after receiving a
copy of the default and the action or order by the Commissioner. For good cause, the Commissioner may vacate a default and any
action taken and reschedule a hearing.

C. Every response filed pursuant to this Section shall be signed by the filing party or by at least one attorney, in the attorney’s individual
name, who represents the party, and shall be verified.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-36 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1304 (Supp.

87-1). Amended subsection (D) effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4). Section R4-28-1304 amended by final rulemaking at
5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1305. Notice of Representation; Notice of Appearance of Counsel
A. A party may represent themselves, appoint someone to represent them, participate in the party’s own behalf or be represented by a

member of the State Bar of Arizona.
B. Any person intending to represent a party in an investigation or audit shall submit to the Department a completed Notice of

Representation for.
C. Any person representing a party at a contested case hearing or an appealable agency action as counsel shall properly appear at a

contested case hearing or appealable agency action as counsel or representative of a party shall file a Notice of Appearance which
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shall advise the Department of the person’s intent to appear on behalf of a party. The notice shall be filed with the Office of
Administrative Hearings and served on all parties and shall contain:
1. The title of the case,
2. The name of the agency ordering the hearing,
3. The current address and telephone number of the person appearing, and
4. The name of the party for whom the person is appearing.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-37 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1305 (Supp.

87-1). Amended subsections (B) and (C) effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4). Section R4-28-1305 amended by final
rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1306. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-38 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1306 (Supp.

87-1). Amended subsections (A), (B), and (C) effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4). Section R4-28-1306 repealed by final
rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1307. Expired

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended subsection (E) effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section
R4-28-39 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1307 (Supp. 87-1). Amended effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4).

Section R4-28-1307 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Section expired
under A.R.S. § 41-1056(E) at 10 A.A.R. 1893, effective February 29, 2004 (Supp. 04-2).

R4 28 1308. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Former Section R4-28-40 renumbered

without change as Section R4-28-1308 (Supp. 87-1). Amended effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4). Section R4-28-1308
repealed by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1309. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective June 23, 1983 (Supp. 83-3). Former Section R4-28-41 renumbered

without change as Section R4-28-1309 (Supp. 87-1). Amended effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4). Section R4-28-1309
repealed by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1310. Rehearing or Review of Decision; Response; Decision
A. Unless otherwise provided by statute or rule, any party to a hearing before the Office of Administrative Hearings who is aggrieved by

a decision rendered in a case may, pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1092.09, file with the Commissioner a written motion for rehearing or
review of the decision. The motion shall specify the particular grounds for rehearing or review. The moving party shall serve copies
upon all other parties. A motion for rehearing or review under this Section may be amended at any time before the Commissioner
rules upon the motion.

B. A rehearing or review of the decision may be granted for any one of the following causes that materially affect the moving party’s
rights:
1. Irregularity in the proceedings or any order or abuse of discretion by the administrative law judge that deprived a party of a fair

hearing;
2. Misconduct by the Department, administrative law judge, or the prevailing party;
3. Accident or surprise that could not have been prevented by ordinary prudence;
4. Newly discovered material evidence that could not with reasonable diligence have been discovered and produced at the original

hearing;
5. Excessive or insufficient penalties;
6. Error in the admission or rejection of evidence or other errors of law occurring during the proceeding;
7. That the findings of fact or decision is arbitrary, capricious, or an abuse of discretion;
8. That the findings of fact or decision is not supported by the evidence or is contrary to law.

C. Presenting specific grounds for rehearing or review, affidavits and relief sought.
1. Each party filing a motion for rehearing or review shall specify in the motion which of the grounds listed in subsection (B) the

motion is based upon and shall set forth specific facts and law in support of the rehearing or review. The party may cite relevant
portions of testimony by reference to pages or lines of the reporter’s transcript of the hearing or to the date and time range of the
Office of Administrative Hearings audio record, and may cite hearing exhibits by reference to the exhibit number.

2. When a party files a motion for rehearing or review based upon an affidavit, the person shall attach the affidavit to the motion
before filing the motion unless leave for later filing of an affidavit is granted by the Commissioner. The leave may be granted ex
parte.
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3. Each party filing a motion for rehearing or review shall specify the specific relief sought by the motion, such as a different
decision or penalty, a new hearing, a dismissal of the complaint, or other relief. A party may seek multiple forms of relief, in the
alternative.

D. Any party may file a written response to the motion. An affidavit may be attached to and filed with the response and shall not be later
filed unless leave for later filing of affidavits is granted by the Commissioner. The original response shall be filed with the Department
pursuant to R4 28 102, within 15 days after the date the motion for rehearing or review is filed, and a copy shall be served upon all
other parties to the hearing.

E. Within 30 days after a decision is rendered, the Commissioner may, on the Commissioner’s own initiative, order a rehearing or review
of a decision for any reason for which a motion for rehearing or review might have been granted. The Commissioner shall specify the
grounds for rehearing or review in the order.

F. Upon review of a motion for rehearing or review of the decision, and any response, the Commissioner shall issue a ruling granting or
denying the motion. If granted, the Commissioner may modify the decision or grant a rehearing. An order granting a rehearing shall
specify with particularity the grounds on which the rehearing is granted, and the rehearing shall cover only those matters specified. All
parties to the hearing may participate as parties at any rehearing.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Amended effective June 23, 1983

(Supp. 83-3). Former Section R4-28-42 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1310 (Supp. 87-1). Amended subsections
(B), (C), and (D) effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4). Section R4-28-1310 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650,
effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1). Amended by final rulemaking at 11 A.A.R. 506, effective March 5, 2005 (Supp. 05-1).

R4 28 1311. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended effective June 23, 1983 (Supp. 83-3). Former Section R4-28-43 renumbered

without change as Section R4-28-1311 (Supp. 87-1). Amended subsections (A), (B), and (C) effective November 27, 1987 (Supp.
87-4). Section R4-28-1311 repealed by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1312. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Amended subsection (B) effective March 13, 1981 (Supp. 81-2). Amended effective

June 23, 1983 (Supp. 83-3). Former Section R4-28-44 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1312 (Supp. 87-1). Section
R4-28-1312 repealed by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650, effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

R4 28 1313. Correction of Clerical Mistakes
Clerical mistakes in opinions, orders, rulings, any process issued by the Department, or other parts of the record, and errors arising from
oversight or omission, may be corrected by the administrative law judge before transmission of the Department hearing file to the
Commissioner, or by the Commissioner after transmission of the file, either upon the initiative of the administrative law judge or
Commissioner, or upon motion of any party.

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-45 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1313 (Supp.

87-1). Amended effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4). Section R4-28-1313 amended by final rulemaking at 5 A.A.R. 650,
effective February 3, 1999 (Supp. 99-1).

ARTICLE 14. REPEALED
R4-28-1401. Repealed

Historical Note
Adopted effective May 1, 1980 (Supp. 80-3). Former Section R4-28-46 renumbered without change as Section R4-28-1401 (Supp.

87-1). Repealed effective November 27, 1987 (Supp. 87-4).
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