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Pursuant to ARS §32-2108.01, original applicants for licensure are required to obtain a valid Fingerprint Clearance Card through 
the Arizona Department of Public Safety prior to submitting their application to the Arizona Department of Real Estate.  The 
Department may no longer accept basic fingerprint cards for processing. 

ARS §32-2108.01 pertains to: 

 New original license applications for, but not limited to:  
 Salesperson – real estate, cemetery or campground 
 Broker – real estate, cemetery or campground 
 Schools– natural person for an entity applicant; owner  
 Public reports – when there is evidence of a criminal record that has not been previously disclosed to the 

Department. 
 Etc. 

Only renewals for salesperson and/or brokers that have any disclosures, such as, any misdemeanor conviction and/or 
felony conviction, will require a Fingerprint Clearance Card.  Disclosure to the department will still need to occur regarding 
judgment restriction, disciplinary action, and civil judgment or ADRE recovery fund payment at the time of license 
application and for all licensees within 10 days of final outcome.  

 
Q: When did the new law take effect? 
A: July 29, 2010 
 
Q: How can I obtain an application packet for an initial or renewal Fingerprint Clearance Card?  
A: You may obtain an application packet from your pre-license education school or you may request a packet directly 

from DPS by either   calling (602) 223-2279 or faxing your request to (602) 223-2947. Office hours are Monday 
through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. complete application form entirely, which includes checking the box noted 
Arizona Department of Real Estate (ARS 32-2108.01). 

 
Q: What is the fee to obtain a Fingerprint Clearance Card? 

The fee for volunteers is $65 and the fee for all others is $67 as of March 19, 2012. 
 
Q: What forms of payment are accepted?  
A: DPS accepts Cashier’s Checks, Money Orders or a check drawn on a business account. All forms of payment should be 

made payable to the AZ Department of Public Safety.  
 
Q:  How long will it take to get my Fingerprint Clearance Card? 
A: The average processing time is five to eight weeks depending on whether or not the person has a    criminal record. 

Please ensure you affix sufficient postage to the envelope and place your return address in the top left corner of the 
envelope.  

   
Q:  How long is my Fingerprint Clearance Card good for? 
A: Cards are valid for six years. 
 
Q: What will my fingerprints be used for?  
A.          Your fingerprints will be used to obtain both a state and federal criminal records check. 
 
Q: Does DPS take applicant fingerprints?  
A: No. An applicant can contact their local law enforcement agency to find out if they take applicant fingerprints or they    

may contact a private fingerprinting service. 
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Q: I lost my Fingerprint Clearance Card. How may I obtain a replacement? 
A: An application for a replacement card may be obtained by calling (602) 223-2279 or faxing your request to  

(602) 223-2947. A $5.00 fee will be charged per replacement card. 
 

Q: Where can I find out what would preclude me from obtaining a clearance card?  
A: Precluding offenses for a level one fingerprint clearance card can be found in A.R.S. 41-1758.07, subsection B and C, 

link below. Precluding offenses( view at www.azdps.gov)  for the regular fingerprint clearance card can be found in 
A.R.S. 41-1758.03, link below:  

• A.R.S. 41-1758.03 
• A.R.S. 41-1758.07 

Q: Must I present a Fingerprint Clearance Card at the time I apply for a new salesperson or broker license? 
A: Yes. A valid Fingerprint Clearance Card will be required of all individuals seeking to receive a license through the 

ADRE at the time of application.  The Fingerprint Clearance Card must be obtained from the Arizona Department of 
Public Safety.   (Instructions at www.azre.gov - “How to Obtain a Fingerprint Clearance Card”.) 
 

Q: Will all schools and instructors need fingerprint clearance cards upon renewal?  
A: No. They will only need to obtain and submit a fingerprint clearance card if they fall in either of these categories:  

• NEW disclosures from existing licensed/approved individuals that the 
Department had not been notified of previously. 

• Schools renewals in which the person exercising control over the school had 
not previously submitted a fingerprint card.  

 
Q: I have completed the class requirements, passed the State tests, taken my Broker Management clinic, and verified 

my experience.  Two days ago I submitted my application for fingerprint clearance.  Can I submit for a transitional 
Broker's license while I wait for the DPS fingerprint clearance? 

A: No. Until you have the Fingerprint Clearance Card, we cannot issue a license. 
 
Q:  Is this pertaining to licensees that already have their license?  How do you know whether you need a Fingerprint 

Clearance Card or not? 
A: If you are already a licensee and do not have a criminal/misdemeanor conviction of any kind to disclose to the 

Department from your last renewal, then you do not need a clearance card. If you do have a disclosure, then you 
must disclose it to the Department within 10 days of the conviction and you will be required to obtain a clearance 
card.  

 
Q:  If an individual possesses clearance card from another state, military or any entity, is it valid?  
A:    No.  Only Arizona DPS issued FCC are accepted. 
 
Q: Will the Department accept a “Concealed Weapons Permit” card in lieu of a Fingerprint Clearance Card? 
A: No.  The only card that the Department of Real Estate will accept is the Fingerprint Clearance Card. 

http://www.azdps.gov/
http://www.azdps.gov/Links/ARS/?l=41/01758-03.htm
http://www.azdps.gov/Links/ARS/?l=41/01758-07.htm
http://www.azre.gov/

