

ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF REAL ESTATE (ADRE)

Educator Update

April 2021

"Let's Do It The Arizona Way . . . The Right Way!"



UPDATED ADRE EDUCATION ONLINE SYSTEM FULLY IMPLEMENTED!

The newly updated Education Online System has been in operation for the last month and feedback has been positive! Thank you to all who have used the system and provided feedback. The updated system is now the official way to enter classes into the 14 day calendar. Click here to access the system.

Please update any classes that may have been scheduled in advance, prior to the update, to be sure they are marked correctly as "classroom" or "Host Remote". When updating to Host Remote, please also enter the login criteria for access to the class.

The new system is enhanced to work better on mobile devices, provides a foundation for future enhanced features, and platform and security updates were also completed.

COURSE OUTLINE MUST BE SPECIFIC

When submitting new or renewal courses, the course outline for a Continuing Education course needs to show the "value" of the course to the licensee. What is the DESIRED OUTCOME of taking the course?

Detail needs to be added regarding Arizona specific course content and relevancy. Example: specific statutes, Commissioner's Rules, Substantive Policy Statements (SPS), Arizona Court decisions, etc.

Course timing needs to be broken down by topic and activity. Examples: quiz & discussion - 15 minutes; Lecture with PowerPoint regarding rescission of contracts – 20 minutes; break out groups discussing pros & cons of "love letters" in Fair Housing – 25 minutes.

Content needs to be beyond basic pre-licensing material to be approved for Continuing Education. It must be current, relevant, advancing the licensee's knowledge, and Arizona centric.

The course content must be consistent with <u>R4-28-402</u> and meet the majority of class material for the category applied for." It is the position of ADRE that "majority" refers to at least 70% of the content provided in the course outline.

.....

VERIFY COURSE INFORMATION IS CORRECT IN THE 14 DAY CALENDAR

Check the **course expiration date** and **course** # at least 14 days in advance of the scheduled course date. Recently we have been asked to make exceptions to the 14 day notice rule. **No exceptions** will be made. ARS 32-2135(H)(1) states that schools shall submit notice to the department at least 14 days before holding the course to permit monitoring of the course.

Starting in January 2021, renewed courses have received NEW COURSE NUMBERS. If you scheduled a course in advance of renewal, please update the 14 day calendar with the NEW course number PRIOR to teaching the course.

LAST MINUTE CHANGES? UPDATE ADRE

Changes after a course is scheduled in the 14 day calendar must be reported timely to ADRE. These include changes to instructor or links to Host Remote classes. Update the 14 day calendar AND send a message through the message center to the Education Department with the course #, date, time and explanation of the changes.

ADRE CLASS MONITOR PROGRAM

The Department of Real Estate staff will continue to act as course monitors in Host Remote courses. ADRE staff attending courses as monitors should be provided with all of the materials registered students receive, including the course outline. Please advise all instructors that an ADRE staff member may be attending their class as a monitor. We appreciate your continued support of this program.

REMINDER: ADRE CLASSROOM RULES MUST BE FOLLOWED

The Department wants to remind all schools to follow the guidelines set out for all types of course environment (Live, Host Remote, etc):

All Guidelines and rules should be announced and clarified at the very beginning of course.

Include in this announcement that Course Completion Certificates should **NOT** be issued to anyone who does not comply with all course rules. For Host Remote classes see form ED-102 Addendum C, Section V on page 18: "Excepting scheduled breaks, the registered student is attending the entire course, with students remaining on camera, and required to remain in visual full face view to the instructor and/or course monitor(s), no "only cell phone" attendance permitted."

Administrators, Instructors and Monitors should review the rules as stated in the New ED-102 for each class delivery method and enforce the rules. The school will be held responsible for violations.

NOTE: APPROVED COURSE DELIVERY METHODS

Currently only four course delivery methods are approved by the department, as noted in the ED-102:

Live Classroom (Addendum A)

Distance Learning (Addendum B)

Host Remote (Addendum C)

Online Pre-Licensing 6 Hour Contract Writing (Addendum D)

Combining two or more of these methods into a "Hybrid" method is **NOT** approved and **cannot be used** to provide either Pre-licensing or Continuing Education credit.

EDUCATION Q and A

Question: How do I share a course, already approved for my school, with another school?

<u>Answer:</u> Providing that you are not changing the course content, category, or duration, and the instructor is currently approved to teach the course or similar courses, the original School Administrator must log in using the <u>online system</u> to complete the online approval function to share the course with another school.

Question: I have a new instructor I want to have teach several courses for my school. What do I need to do?

<u>Answer:</u> If the Department hasn't previously approved the instructor, submit a completed and signed <u>Application For Real Estate Instructor Approval Form (ED-101)</u> and attach documentation to demonstrate his or her qualifications for instructor approval (see R4-28-404 C). You may also need to demonstrate the basis for the applicant instructor's qualifications (knowledge or skill) to teach in each category of course material. File it with the Department at least 30 days before the first class the instructor is scheduled to teach.

.....

PEARSON VUE EXAMINATION CENTERS

The availability of Pearson VUE examination locations are listed below. Examination site availability may be subject to change. Scheduling can be completed through Pearson VUE 's self-service website. Please contact the examination site or Pearson VUE for more information click here.

Office	City	Times
B&B Evaluation Services	Phoenix	Open 5-7 days per week
Tucson Association of Realtors	Tucson	Open 5 days per week
Arizona Western College	Yuma	Open 3 days per week
Northern Arizona University	Flagstaff	Open 5-7 days per week
	Tempe, Phoenix, Chandler,	Contact PV through their self- service website to schedule an
Pearson VUE Corporate locations	Tucson	exam.

RENEWAL LICENSEES

The Department is directing individual licensees that are due to expire to search the ADRE Public Database for available classroom, online and host remote Continuing Education Courses, click here to view. The Department will not extend anyone's expiration dates. Nearly 99 percent of license renewals are submitted online.

MARCH EDUCATION STATISTICS

- Number of active schools (including branches): 236
- The total number of active courses: 2,441
- The number of active instructors: 756
- The total number of Broker Exams administered in March: 40

- The total number of Salesperson Exams administered in March: 635
- Examination Passing Rates for First-Time Test Takers in March:

o Broker: 78% o Salesperson: 65%

- Out-of-State License Examinations Administered March: 50
 - o Broker: (Passing Rate for First-Time Test Takers) 38%
 - o Salesperson: (Passing Rate for First-Time Test Takers) 31%

INCREASE LICENSEE KNOWLEDGE – INCREASE CONTINUING EDUCATION!

Take it early and often! The minimum required CE for a Salesperson is 24 hours and for a Designated Broker 30 hours. A.A.C. R4-28-402 sets these as *minimums*. In the ever changing world of real estate, staying current is more important than ever. Let's encourage licensees and brokers to step up beyond the minimum required education hours to benefit themselves and their clients.

SIGN UP FOR DEPARTMENT OF REAL ESTATE (ADRE) LATE BREAKING NEWS ALERTS

To subscribe for Late Breaking News, visit www.azre.gov and enter your email address on the homepage in the "Late Breaking News Sign Up" section. Your subscription entitles you to receive all ADRE distributions.

REMINDER NOTICES – KEEP EMAIL ADDRESSES CURRENT WITH ADRE

ADRE sends 30, 60, 90 day license renewal reminder emails to licensee's email address. As required by Arizona Real Estate statute, make sure your email address is up to date with ADRE. Visit the ADRE Online License System to update all personal information within 10 days of a change <u>click here</u>.

If you are a School Administrator, please distribute this Educator Update to all Instructors affiliated with the School

Should you have questions, please contact ADRE through the Online Message Center located at <u>click here.</u>