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Description of Practice/Procedure: 

 

This Substantive Policy Statement is intended to inform the regulated real estate education industry of the 

Department’s interpretation and implementation of the education statutes and rules under the 

Department’s original jurisdiction, through the establishment of real estate instructor professional 

development requirements.  

  

CONTENT INSTRUCTOR PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT REQUIREMENTS 

 

The Law:  In addition to instructor qualifications required pursuant to A.A.C. R4-28-404(C), the 

Department has established content instructor professional development requirements. Specifically: “The 

commissioner may determine… appropriate professional qualifications for approving instructors to teach 

individual educational courses.” A.R.S. § 32-2135(E); and “The commissioner may withdraw or deny 

certification or approval of… real estate instructors for… failing to attend any continuing education course 

required by the commissioner.” A.R.S. § 32-2135(C)(5). 

 

Requirements and Administration: 

 

1. For an Instructor Applying for Individual Continuing Education Category Teaching Approval: Upon 

an original or renewal instructor approval application, or during the instructor’s current four year 

approval period, the applicant shall provide evidence to the Department of having attended any 

combination of six hours of live classroom and/or distance learning Department-approved 

continuing education (CE) courses, taken within the 48 months immediately preceding the date of 

application, for each of the following seven CE categories in which the applicant wishes to be 

approved to teach: 

 

a. Agency Law 

b. Contract Law 

c. Commissioner’s Standards 

d. Real Estate Legal Issues 

e. Fair Housing  

f. Disclosure 

g. General Real Estate 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This substantive policy statement is advisory only. A substantive policy statement does not 

include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal procedures of the 

agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or 

include confidential information or rules made in accordance with the Arizona 

Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this substantive policy statement does 

impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties you may petition the 

agency under A.R.S. 41-1033 for a review of the statement. 
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2. For a Licensed Arizona Broker or Salesperson:  As an alternative to paragraph 1 above, upon an 

original or renewal instructor approval application, or during the instructor’s current approval 

period, a licensee applicant shall provide evidence to the Department of having renewed the 

licensee’s Arizona broker’s or salesperson’s license twice within the 48 months immediately 

preceding the date of application for each of the following seven CE categories in which the 

applicant wishes to be approved to teach: 

 

a. Agency Law 

b. Contract Law 

c. Commissioner’s Standards 

d. Real Estate Legal Issues 

e. Fair Housing  

f. Disclosure 

g. General Real Estate 

 

3. For an Arizona Broker Applying for Approval to Teach a Prelicense Education Course:  Upon an 

original or renewal instructor approval application, or during the instructor’s current approval 

period, the applicant shall provide evidence to the Department of having met the requirements of 

either paragraph 1 or 2 above for all seven CE categories, and paragraph 5 for all three Broker 

Management Clinic subject areas. A currently approved prelicense instructor who does not hold a 

current broker’s license is grandfathered and may maintain the prelicense approval by meeting 

the requirements of paragraph 1 above for all seven CE categories, and paragraph 5 for all three 

Broker Management Clinic subject areas. 

 

4. For an Instructor Applying for Approval to Teach the 6-hour Contract Writing (“Boot Camp”):  

Upon an original or renewal instructor approval application, or during the instructor’s current 

approval period, the applicant shall provide evidence to the Department of having attended twelve 

hours of Department-approved Contract Law courses, taken within the 48 months immediately 

preceding the date of application. No more than six of the CE hours may be in distance learning. 

 

5. For an Arizona Broker Applying for Approval to Teach the Broker Management Clinic (“BMC”): 

Upon an original or renewal instructor approval application, or during the instructor’s current 

approval period, the applicant shall provide evidence to the Department of having attended two 

different live classroom BMC courses for each of the following three CE subject areas in which 

the applicant wishes to be approved to teach, within the 48 months immediately preceding the 

date of application: 

                       Courses         Hours 

 a. Broker Management Clinic #1 – Statutes And Rules  2  6  

 b. Broker Management Clinic #2 – Broker Policies   2  6 

 c. Broker Management Clinic #3 – Supervision   2  6 

         Total: 6             18 

 

CONTENT INSTRUCTOR DEVELOPMENT WORKSHOP (“CONTENT IDW”) 

 

The Law:  Pursuant to authority of the Department: “The commissioner may determine… appropriate 

professional qualifications for approving instructors to teach individual educational courses.” A.R.S. § 32-

2135(E); and “The commissioner may withdraw or deny certification or approval of… real estate 

instructors for… failing to attend any continuing education course required by the commissioner.”     

A.R.S. § 32-2135(C)(5). 
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Discontinuance of the Content IDW Program: 

 

1. The Department previously approved numerous Content IDW courses that were individually 

designed and approved to satisfy twice their number of CE hours required for instructor approval 

to teach in a specific CE or prelicense course area. Effective the date of this Substantive Policy, 

the Content IDW Program is discontinued and no new Content IDW applications will be accepted 

by the Department. Previously approved Content IDW courses will not be eligible for renewal and 

will expire upon the course expiration date on the Department’s course approval system. 

 

2. A three hour minimum Content IDW previously taken by an instructor applicant within the 48 

months prior to the original or renewal application date, or during the instructor’s current approval 

period, with evidence of attendance submitted to the Department, will be accepted as equal to 

and qualifying for two of the regular CE courses in that category of instruction. 

 

SKILLS INSTRUCTOR DEVELOPMENT WORKSHOP (“SKILLS IDW”) 

 

The Law: “Beginning January 1, 2012, in the twenty-four months before application, each instructor 

original or renewal applicant, other than a panelist, guest speaker, an attorney or out-of-state instructor, 

shall attend at least a three hour professional seminar or workshop, approved by the department, 

emphasizing instruction methods, techniques and skills.” A.R.S. § 32-2135(K). 

 

Skills IDW Requirements & Administration: 

 

1. For Approval to Teach Prelicense or Continuing Education:  Upon the original or renewal 

instructor approval application, the applicant shall provide evidence to the Department of having 

attended at least one live Department-approved 3-hour Skills IDW within the 24 months 

immediately preceding the date of application. 

 

2. For Approval to Teach a Skills IDW: Upon an original or renewal instructor approval application, 

or during the instructor’s current approval period, the applicant shall provide evidence to the 

Department of having attended at least six hours of live Department-approved Skills IDW 

course(s) within the 24 months immediately preceding the date of application. 

 

Authority:  A.R.S. § 32-2135 and A.A.C. R4-28-404.  

 

Policy Program:  Education 

 

Effective Dates:  March 20, 2015 

 

 


