Arizona Real Estate License - Qualifying for and Obtaining
Original real estate, cemetery and membership camping salesperson's and broker's licenses are issued for a term of two (2) years. License renewal must occur on or before the last day of the month in which the license was issued. Renewals are for a two (2) year period.
Pursuant to A.R.S. §32-2124 – All applicants for an original real estate, cemetery or membership camping license shall show evidence satisfactory to the Commissioner:
Arizona is a non-reciprocal licensing state.
Previously Licensed in Arizona – Arizona previously licensed licensees, in a terminated status which had not been renewed within one year of expiration, may qualify for a recertification of pre-licensing education, with the proof of a retake and passing of the Pearson-VUE examination, based on prior Arizona education and licensure. Contact the real estate school attended for records.
The Pre-licensure education is valid for ten years (§32-2124-B). Originally licensed individuals in Arizona, who obtained their real estate pre-license education more than 10 years ago, cannot be relicensed in Arizona without a current 90 hours of pre-licensing education and a retake and passing of the Pearson-VUE examination. All other license application requirements must be met.
Education – All pre-licensing education must be in-classroom instruction from an ADRE approved Arizona real estate school. On-line pre-license education is not approved in Arizona. The school will provide you with a copy of the Candidate Handbook, or access it online at www.azre.gov. The Candidate Handbook explains in detail what is required when taking the Arizona examination and applying for a license with the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
Examinations - After completion of the pre-licensing course and passing the school’s final examination the school will issue a Pre-licensure Education Certificate as verification the pre-licensure education requirement has been met. Upon receiving the Pre-licensure Education Certificate, and for the Broker examination when the Broker Candidate Experience Verification Form (LI-226) is completed, contact the testing administrator, Pearson VUE at 888-405-5776, or www.pearsonvue.com to register and schedule to take the Arizona examination. The Arizona examination has two parts, the National and the Arizona-specific. Examinations are given in Flagstaff, Phoenix, Tucson and Yuma by appointment only.
An original Pre-Licensure Education Certificate must be presented to the examination site. Two forms of current personal signature identification, one government issued with a photo are required for presentation. All original documents must be presented at the examination site to allow for participation in the examination. An incomplete package of documents may require the approval process to begin anew.
Americans with Disabilities Act – The Arizona Department of Real Estate and Pearson VUE comply with the American with Disabilities Act. Persons with disabilities may request reasonable accommodations such as interpreters, alternative formats or assistance with physical accessibility. Request for accommodations must be made 72 hours prior to testing. For more information, refer to the Candidate Handbook or call Pearson VUE at 888-405-5776, or www.pearsonvue.com.
Arizona Real Estate Statutes and Commissioner’s Rules – All Arizona licensees, whether active or inactive, must have available for their use a current copy of the Department’s statutes and rules. The Arizona Real Estate Law Book, published by the Department, contains the required material. The law book may be purchased at the ADRE office in Phoenix or Tucson, or by mail.
The statutes, rules and policy statements are also available on www.azre.gov. Substantive Policy Statement No 2005-05, provides that making the “Law book” available via the web meets the requirement of every licensee having it available for their use.
Arizona Cemetery and Membership Camping License Requirements – There is no prescribed pre-licensure education leading to licensure as a cemetery salesperson or broker, or membership camping salesperson or broker. A.R.S. § 32-2124 (A)(2) and (F) stipulates the qualifications leading to cemetery licensure, specifically general understanding areas (Title 32, Article 6). A.R.S. § 32-2124 (A)(3) and (G) stipulates the qualifications leading to membership camping licensure, specifically general understanding areas (Title 32, Article 10). Candidates for these licenses may contact Pearson VUE as outlined here to register for and schedule their examination. After completing and passing the examination, all other license application requirements must be met.
Schedule Exam Date – Contact Pearson VUE at www.pearsonvue.com to schedule the state and national examinations. Be prepared to provide to the exam administrator two forms of current signature identification, including one government issued I.D. with photo and the Salesperson Education Certificate for the 90 hours of schooling. The examination fee is listed on the License Fee Schedule at www.azre.gov, clicking on the Fee Schedule link on the left navigation menu. Fees are subject to change without notice.
License Application – Salesperson Documents
License Application – Salesperson Time Frame – Salesperson License application must occur within 1 year from the date of passing the state examination, or the state exam must be retaken and passing score reports presented. Submitting an application by 5 pm on the last business day of the one year period will require a retake and passing of the State-specific and National examinations.
Schedule Exam Date – Contact Pearson VUE at www.pearsonvue.com to schedule the state and national examinations. The examination fee is listed on the License Fee Schedule at www.azre.gov, clicking on the Fee Schedule link on the left navigation menu. Fees are subject to change without notice. Be prepared to provide the exam administrator two forms of current signature identification, including one photo, and if a real estate Broker applicant, the Broker Education Certification of 90 hours, and the completed Broker Verification Experience Form(s).
License Application – Broker Documents
Associate Broker Hiring On With a Broker – A currently licensed salesperson must log onto www.azre.gov, online services, to sever the salesperson license immediately prior to ADRE staff processing the approved Broker license application. When the Broker license application is approved and completed, reflecting all new information, log onto www.azre.gov and hire on as an Associate Broker to the company and pay the fee. The Designated Broker must access the ADRE online system to approve the hire, prior to the licensee being legal to work, which will then show “active” for the Associate Broker. If not hiring on online, at time of original Broker license application, provide the Salesperson/Associate Broker Change Form (LI-202), signed by the hiring Broker, along with the fee.
Designated Broker Hire On – A licensed Broker, applying for a Designated Broker’s license, should submit an Entity/Broker Status Change Form (LI-216) or an entity license application along with the Entity/Broker Status Change Form (LI-216) and the appropriate fees. Amount of fees depends on whether applicant is being employed for an existing Employing Broker or a new Employing Broker. Additional documentation may be required. Click here to request further information regarding Broker Entity licensing.
License Application – Broker Time Frame – Broker License application must occur within 1 year from the date of passing the state examination or the state exam must be retaken and passing score reports presented, as well as, the completed Broker Candidate Experience Verification form (LI-226) with an acceptable “valid through” date. Submitting an application by 5 pm on the last business day of the one year period will require a retake and passing of the State-specific and National examinations.